Book Tags

The Bookish Baking Tag πŸͺ feat. my opinions on baked goods

Bookish Baking Tag

Hello fellow bookworms πŸͺ It’s time to combine two things that I love: Book Tags and Baked Goods! I’m trying to get more into baking in this quarantine, as back in the day I actually used to love doing it with friends, and made for such great memories πŸ’— But then in college my flat didn’t have an oven, so I barely baked anything in that time. Now I’ve at least temporarily got one again, so I’m making the most out of it! To celebrate I’ll be doing the Bookish Baking TagΒ created by Kay @ hammockofbooks who also created the beautiful graphics that I’ll be using as well πŸ₯° Alongside answering the questions I will also be sharing my opinions on the Baked Goods that inspired the question 😊

Let the baking begin ❀

The Rules

  1. Thank whoever tagged you
  2. Link back to them and the original creator (Kay @ Hammock of Books)
  3. Answer the 12 prompts, and feel free to use these graphics
  4. Tag 5+ friends to share the sweetness ❀

I’m tagging πŸͺ❀

Divider2

πŸͺ 8/10 A true classic! I love all things chocolate, but blueberry muffins deserve all the rights! Apart from strawberries they are the best berries and perfect in any kind of cake πŸ₯°

selective focus photography of cupcakes on top of white table

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (Ransom Riggs)

➽ I found it hard to pinpoint a book that has the ‘perfect’ beginning but then I remembered this book! I just recently reread the entire series which I love so much, the creepy photographs set the atmosphere so well πŸ’—Miss Peregrine’s has got a great beginning that I enjoy more every time I read it. I love the exploration of Jacob’s relationship with his grandfather as well as the story addressing his resulting trauma from the inciting event – it all felt very genuine to me!

β€œI had just come to accept that my life would be ordinary when extraordinary things began to happen.”

Divider2

πŸͺ 8/10 simply because I love everything having to do with pumpkin or pumpkin spice! I’ve never had a real pumpkin pie before, as they aren’t a thing in German but I really want to eat one! πŸŽƒ

closeup photo of sliced pie on white ceramic saucer

Pumpkinheads (Rainbow Rowell & Faith Erin Hicks)

➽ Given that it’s pumpkin pie that’s featured in contrast to anything Christmas related, I’m going with a book that gives off great Halloween vibes! The first book that immediately came to mind was Pumpkinheads, a fantastic graphic novel set during a Harvest Festival and therefore embraces all the typical autumn activities and vibes. I wish there were pumpkin patches and great harvest festivals where I come from because the setting was so wonderful and made me feel so happy! πŸ₯°

Divider2

πŸͺ 10/10 cinnamon rolls yes!!!!!! They are so delicious and I get hungry just thinking about them! Cinnamon is also one of my favorite spices so this is such a comfort food to me πŸ’—

brown donuts with chocolate sprinkles

Ariel Stone (You Asked for Perfect)

➽ There are a lot of characters I want to see protected but Ariel immediately came to my mind because he deserves a break! πŸ₯Ί Throughout the entire book, he’s under so much pressure, stress, and anxiety that it really made my heart ache for him. I’d definitely fight all the school officials and the system that made him feel like he had to burn himself out in order to have the ‘perfect’ future. The book does a great job discussing academic pressure and how damaging it can be to young teenagers!

Divider2

πŸͺ 10/10 lemon cake is one of the best cakes and in general anything with lemon is delicious to me be it cupcakes, pie, cake, give me everything!! πŸ‹

When Dimple Met Rishi (Sandhya Menon)

➽ For me, When Dimple Met Rishi definitely gives off so many summer vibes, probably because it’s also set at a summer camp-like setting! I also tend to associate contemporary books to summer (and spring) more than the other two seasons. I also feel like the book gives off a lot of positive vibes and I really liked the hate to love romance, as well as the great discussions about combining personal passions and traditions. In general, I recommend all of Sandhya Menon’s books because they’re really great and quick, engaging reads πŸ₯°

Divider2

πŸͺ 8/10 This seems to be more of an American cake, but I do remember having delicious cake with sprinkles when I was younger ~ always delicious! ❀

13 Treasures Β (Michelle Harrison)

➽ There are a lot of books that meant a lot to me during my childhood – like Inkheart or Percy Jackson – but I wanted to mention a book series I haven’t talked about much here. Back in the day, I was super invested in the 13 Treasures series, a trilogy about a girl who can see fairies and goes back to her grandmother’s estate on her summer vacation, which is also located near a mysterious forest. I loved the adventure vibes that this gives off and the books were always so much fun to read, I own them to this day 😊

Divider2

πŸͺ 10/10 Chocolate Chip Cookies are delicious and one of the things I love to bake the most because it’s pretty easy ❀

brown cookies on black metal grill

Macbeth (William Shakespeare)

➽ I don’t like many classics (I have like 3 books that I rotate to keep answering this type of question) and I partly blame school for forcing us to only read books no one was interested in. However, I genuinely enjoyed reading Macbeth in school, it’s one of the only books I liked even though it could be hard to read as well. I haven’t read any other Shakespeare book, but I’m glad that we read this one as it has got witches, Scotland and morally grey characters, so that makes it so much more interesting than anything else we read πŸ˜„

Divider2

πŸͺ 0/10 because I hate raisins πŸ˜‚ I simply cannot stand them, but I wouldn’t say No to simple Oatmeal cookies, because oatmeal is delicious ❀

cookies in clear glass bowl

A Blade so Black (L.L. McKinney)

➽ I read A Blade so Black last month and I honestly wish that this book got more love! It’s a great Alice in Wonderland retelling that puts a really interesting spin on how the world works and has got a realistic heroine. I love contemporary fantasy stories and I especially appreciated that this one discusses the struggles of being a hero with important missions and also having to juggle the normal – human – life with all its responsibilities. This is definitely a must-read for any Wonderland lovers like myself πŸ₯°

Divider2

πŸͺ 7/10 I never had this but it looks delicious and like something I would probably enjoy eating! But all I can think about when I see Angel Food Cake is Good Omens πŸ˜‡

plate of cooked food

Cat’s CafΓ© (Matt Tarpley)

➽ This is probably my favorite graphic novel/comic that I’ve read because it’s just so wholesome πŸ₯Ί I got an arc for this earlier this year and it honestly made me so happy as this book is full of fluff and important messages of self-care, mental health, dealing with insecurities and the power of friendship πŸ₯° I love that the comic is focused on the life of the animals and their dynamics, they all have a very special place in my heart!

Divider2

πŸͺ 9/10 Carrot Cake is 100% valid though I don’t have it often. In general, carrots are delicious and this cake definitely has good flavor ❀

brown bread with sliced tomato and green vegetable on white ceramic plate

Renegades (Marissa Meyer)

➽ It was hard to pick just one book here because there are a lot of good messages to be found, so we’re going with one of my all-time favorites πŸ’—I simply love how the Renegades series discusses the distinction between good and bad and how blurred the line can become. I also love how it questions what it means to be a hero and how everyone should contribute to making the world a better place, not only the people – in the story world – that have superpowers!

β€œThere are many dangerous people in this world. but there are also many good people. Brave people. No matter how bad things get, we have to remember that. So long as there are heroes in this world, there’s hope that tomorrow night might be better.”

Divider2

πŸͺ 7/10 Not my favorite French sweet food (crΓͺpes for life!!), but I do like the taste of macarons and they look really good! Making them seems complicated though 😱

five macaroons on white surface

Becoming (Michelle Obama)

➽ I have been reading a lot more nonfiction this year, but it’s still something that intimidates me, as it’s different from what I usually read! I definitely enjoyed reading Michelle Obama’s biography, it was so interesting and inspiring to me. 😊However, I also struggled a bit because the book is quite long and dense and I didn’t have a lot of experience reading autobiographies. It took me a longer while to ready this book, but in the end, it was definitely worth it and made me excited to pick up more nonfiction books!

Divider2

πŸͺ 7/10 I don’t eat egg tarts often (I think I only had them once?) but I did like the taste and look of them, so I need to eat more of them 😊

Not Your Sidekick (C.B. Lee)

➽ I read all the Sidekick Squad books that are currently out this year and I really enjoyed making my way through this series! It’s a great low-key sci-fi story about superpowers and amazing friendship dynamicsΒ that’s so easy to get through. Especially the first book makes for such a great comfort read and the romances in the books are definitely so sweet and healthy! The book has great questioning ace rep as well as Bisexual, Trans and also Asian (Chinese-Vietnamese) representation, the whole friendship group is so diverse ❀

Divider2

πŸͺ 10/10 I just baked banana bread for the first time and I loved it!! Honestly, I just love all things that have bananas, be it ice cream, milkshakes, anything 🍌

brown bread on white paper

You Should See Me in a Crown (Leah Johnson)

➽ Picking just one hyped book would be difficult because there are so many of them, but I went with You Should See Me in a Crown. It was – rightfully – all over the bookish community and such a wholesome book. It struck the perfect balance between discussing important topics like systematic racism but also featuring the main character getting a lot of love and recognition. I personally didn’t quite like this one as muchΒ  as everyone else seemed to, but it’s still a solid, enjoyable read 😊

Divider2

Photo Credit

Blueberry Muffins ➽ Pumpkin Pie  ➽ Cinnamon Roll ➽ Lemon Meringue Pie ➽ Funfetti Cake ➽ Chocolate Chip Cookies ➽ Oatmeal Raisin Cookies ➽ Angel Food Cake ➽ Carrot Cake ➽ Macarons ➽ Egg Tarts ➽ Banana Bread

Divider2 (2)

What are your favorite baked goods? Do you like baking? What’s a book that you loved, that deserves more appreciation? πŸͺ

 

28 thoughts on “The Bookish Baking Tag πŸͺ feat. my opinions on baked goods

  1. I made the mistake of reading this before eating breakfast and now I’m soooo hungry. And I want to make all of these baked goods! I haven’t been baking much lately bc it’s been too hot, but I can’t wait for autumn so I can make everything pumpkin spice flavored πŸ˜‹
    I completely agree about your opinion on oatmeal raisin cookies, though. Gross.
    Ooh Macbeth is one of my favorite Shakespeare plays! And yesss You Should See Me in a Crown 😍
    This is such a fun tag, thank you so much for tagging me! I think I’m going to eat breakfast now…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was also getting quite hungry while writing this post and craving all these yummy baked goods πŸ˜„ I’m sad it’s too hot to bake right now, but I’m looking forward to baking pumpkin-spiced everything soon πŸŽƒ
      Omg yes!! Raisins are gross πŸ˜– We only read one Shakespeare play in school and I was glad that it turned out to be Macbeth!
      You’re welcome! *sending over lots of baked goods* πŸͺ

      Like

  2. This is such a cute tag! I love how you added your ratings for the baked goods πŸ™‚ I don’t know much about baking outside of making a pineapple upside down cake. I really want to reread the first two books of the Miss Peregrine’s Home series so I can read the last two, but I know it’s something I’m going to have to get in the mood for first

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ah, I love pumpkin pie! And it’s very easy to make if you get one of those refrigerated pre-made pie crust dough and canned pumpkin! (I know people who have used actual pumpkins, and they claim it is not worth the effort because it tastes just like you used canned pumpkin.)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Right there with you with the raisin hate. They are just.. so weird. Like little bugs. I love oatmeal cookies with butterscotch chips, though. Love this list!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This post just made me so hungry πŸ˜‹ even though I like baking, my sister is the pro so I just stick to the classics while she goes crazy. I love baking blueberry muffins, choco chips cookies and banana bread. I actually never had pumpkin pie, oops. But I love raisins and would have them with everything if I could!
    Great post and a wonderful tag! I loved all of your answers.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was definitely getting hungry while writing it πŸ˜„ I’m trying to improve my own baking and you can never go wrong with the classics! They are always yummy πŸ₯° Then you might have to try out the raisin oatmeal cookies after all 😊
      Thank you so much!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Ah, now I really want to bake something πŸ˜€ This is a fun tag! I want to read Becoming, but I have to say I’m a bit intimidated too. ‘Luckily’ there’s a loooong wait on it at my library, so I have some time to get more excited haha!
    I loved When Dimple Met Rishi and it definitely gives me Summer vibes too πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. caro, thank you so much for tagging me, i’ve been baking a lot this quarantine as well and it’s probably the only time i am at the kitchen, lol. i don’t like/don’t know how to cook for the most part, but baking when it means following a strict recipe and measurements: that i can do, hahah.

    i’ve never had pumpkin pie before: pumpkin in general is not very popular when i live. i remember i tried the starbucks’ pumpkin spice latte and it wasn’t, uh, the *best* experience, hahah, but maybe it would be better as a pie than as a drink!

    carrot cake is my favorite, though our recipe in brazil is very different. there isn’t as much of a texture and carrot flavor, and we also have chocolate as icing, which is just *the best*. i know the combination of carrot and chocolate may be a little strange, but it completely works, hahah.

    i’ve never tried making macarons before, but i assume it must be very complicated indeed. i tried them once before only, and they’re veeeeery sweet but i liked them a lot! i do agree with the choice of becoming as an intimidating book as well. the audiobook was like 18h long and i was… shook to say the least. but it ended up being an amazing experience!

    once again, thanks for tagging me, i’ll definitely be looking forward to answer this one & rave about my favorite baked goods!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So happy to hear that you’ve also been baking a lot, Lais! Cooking has never been my favorite, but Baking is simply so much fun & very delicious! πŸͺ

      I’m a bit sad that pumpkin pie isn’t more popular where I live, but I do like the pumpkin spice latte, though it’s a special taste πŸŽƒ

      Ohh that sounds very delicious! I love chocolate, so the combination sounds great πŸ₯° Macarons sound so complicated to make, so I might have to buy them! Becoming is so great but definitely intimidating at first!

      I’ll be looking forward to reading your answers! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  8. This was such a fun post! It also made me want to go devour a whole bakery, haha πŸ˜‚

    Can confirm macaroons are incredibly intimidating and difficult to bake, I’ve tried 3 times and they didn’t work even slightly. πŸ˜…

    I totally agree with you about Not Your Sidekick, it’s just so wholesome and adorable! And I absolutely love Pumpkinheads, it’s probably my favourite graphic novel. It actually inspired me to bake a pumpkin pie! I wanted to try it after reading but it’s just not a thing in the UK either so I had to make my own. It was really good though! I’d recommend making it if you can find a pumpkin πŸŽƒ

    Great post, I loved it! ❀️

    Like

  9. I loved reading your thoughts on different sweets! This was such a fun post. πŸ₯Ί
    Pumpkinheads was so cute, I really enjoyed the vibe of it, though the ending was not my favourite. I wish we had pumpkin patches too, it must be such a nice experience!
    I have to read Macbeth now that I know it has witches. 😍 Oatmeal cookies for the win, for sure! Though I don’t hate raisins, they definitely are better with a different dried fruit. πŸ˜…
    I felt the same about Becoming, it was intimidating for sure, but I’m glad I read it. Michelle Obama’s voice was so soothing (I listened to the audiobook).

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.