Monthly Wrapups

What I’ve been up to in March 🌼 More Research & Lots of Audiobooks

Archive

Hello fellow bookworms 📖 Once again, a month went by so fast! Since I’m mostly focused on research right now, each week is the same, so they all blend into each other 😂 I’m still on my semi-hiatus and have been posting less often, as I don’t have much time or energy during the week. This month was a mixed bag, but I’m somehow feeling much better than last month *knocks on wood* 🙏🏻

Important Resources

Divider2

whatiread

🔁 = Reread 💌 = Library Books ⌛ = Digital Arc

📚 = #ProjectBacklist 📖 = #DevourYourTBR 😊 = Buddy Read & Book Club

I read 15 books in March! Enjoyment-wise it was a great reading month, as I found three 5-star books (I read two of them back to back!!) and read some other great books 🥰 I had such a good time with most of my books! But I struggled so much with reading physical/e-books, which really bothered me. Once again audiobooks (9) and graphic novels (3) came to the rescue – they were the main reason I still had such a good time! But I only read 3 physical/e-books and struggled to read visually. Due to feeling stressed and exhausted, I mainly listened to audiobooks and couldn’t bring myself to sit down with a book. That made me sad, as I enjoyed reading, but felt so demotivated, even though the books were great! I’ve never been in such a bad reading mood, but I hope April brings me a bit less stress!

OOCZUpdate

I read 6 books out of my comfort zone this month! I stuck with my resolution of reading one nonfiction per month by picking up Stamped, a book I’ve been wanting to read for a while.

March 1

  • The Very Secret Society of Irregular Witches (Sangu Mandanna) ⭐⭐⭐⭐.5📚📖🎧
  • The Screaming Staircase (Jonathan Stroud) ⭐⭐⭐⭐.5📚
  • The Dagger in the Desk (Jonathan Stroud) ⭐⭐⭐⭐📚

March 2

  • The Wicked Bargain (Gabe Cole Novoa) ⭐⭐⭐⭐💌📖🎧
  • Stamped from the Beginning (Ibram X. Kendi) ⭐⭐⭐⭐💌📖🎧
  • Before the Coffee Gets Cold (Toshikazu Kawaguchi) ⭐⭐⭐.5💌📖🎧

Divider2

Other Books

1. The Sad Ghost Club Vol 3. (Lize Meddings) ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐📚

2. This Is Not a Personal Statement (Tracy Badua) ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐💌📖🎧

3. Seven Percent of Ro Devereux (Ellen O’Clover) ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐💌🎧

4. Bird Brain (Chuck Mullin) ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐🔁

5. You Will Get Through This Night (Daniel Howell) ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐🔁

6. Spy x Family Vol 9. (Tatsuya Endo) ⭐⭐⭐⭐.5📚📖

 

7. The Very Secret Society of Irregular Witches (Sangu Mandanna) ⭐⭐⭐⭐.5📚📖🎧

8. The Screaming Staircase (Jonathan Stroud) ⭐⭐⭐⭐.5📚

9. The Dagger in the Desk (Jonathan Stroud) ⭐⭐⭐⭐📚

10. If You Could See the Sun (Ann Liang) ⭐⭐⭐⭐💌📖🎧

11. The Wicked Bargain (Gabe Cole Novoa) ⭐⭐⭐⭐💌📖🎧

12. Stamped from the Beginning (Ibram X. Kendi) ⭐⭐⭐⭐💌📖🎧

13. Silver in the Bone (Alexandra Bracken) ⭐⭐⭐⭐

14. Before the Coffee Gets Cold (Toshikazu Kawaguchi) ⭐⭐⭐.5💌📖🎧

15. The Dragon’s Promise (Elizabeth Lim) ⭐⭐.5⏳📖🎧

Divider2

Favorite Books 💕

Divider2

whatiposted

What I’ve been up to in February 📖 Research, Anxiety & a ray of hope ~ Did I read the books I hauled in 2022? 📚 

Magical Readathon ~ Orilium ✨ Spring Equinox 2023 TBR2023 Quarter Year Crisis Tag 📚 is it too early for a crisis?Book Review: The Sad Ghost Club Vol 3. by Lize Meddings 💕 my fave support group

Divider2

faveposts

For this section I’m sharing my Favorite Blog Posts of the Month 💗

Divider2

life stuff

Things are slowly coming along with my thesis. My frustrations remain, as our supervisor promised we’d be able to recruit for our online survey at the beginning of the month and at the time of writing this (March 26th) we’ve still not started 🙊 I’m still annoyed that they couldn’t have sorted out the study earlier. We don’t have access and could only provide feedback, but there were quite a few technical errors and big changes that needed to be made. We’ve been waiting since January and while I could do some research, I hate that things keep getting postponed.

The professor promised incentives for completing the study, only to go back on their word, so now we have almost nothing to offer. Since I have limited control over what the study looks like, I’m frustrated with how some things have been handled, as it directly influences how well we can recruit people. I just cannot trust anything they say, as things keep getting delayed. My research partner and I are getting annoyed with each week that passes by.

At least my mental health was a bit better! I hesitate to say that, as I don’t want to jinx anything, but despite being stressed, I felt less hopeless and anxious. Part of me just got tired of worrying about everything all the time. I was also able to meet a friend for breakfast and it was so nice to chat with her 💖 I appreciate her validating my frustrations and being angry on my behalf for how things have gone with my thesis!

💖 What I Watched in March 💖

I’m still struggling with watching TV, but my friend and I went through some shows together! I’m also currently watching some great book-to-TV adaptations 🥰

Red Rose (2023) Hindi Season 1 Complete Netflix 720p HDRip 3.2GB Download Heartbreak High TV Series (2022) | Release Date, Review, Cast, Trailer ... Shahmaran (Şahmaran) (Netflix): Australia daily TV audience insights ...

  • Red Rose (S1)
  • Heartbreak High (S1)
  • Shahmaran (S1)
  • Currently Watching 📺 Shadow & Bone (S2), Daisy Jones & the Six (S1)

Divider2

looking ahead

April is going to be a busy month for me! I’m visiting home for Easter and I’m staying until my birthday (16th) but will go back afterward as I still have so many things to do for my thesis. Hopefully, we should FINALLY start the recruitment for our online survey and I’ll be doing more research/starting to structure so I can begin writing. A lot is going on, but I’m ready to finally get farther ahead. On the bright side, it’s also the Magical Readathon month 🥰 It’s my favorite Readathon and I’m so excited for my TBR and all the fun sprints/quizzes, etc.! I hope this will really boost my reading motivation 💖

📚 #DevourYourTBR 📚

This month’s challenge is to “reach for a genre you don’t read often!

© DevourYourTBR

🌼 April TBR 🌼

One of my resolutions for 2023 is to start the month with a TBR of no more than 6 books! 📖 I’m going to read more than the books listed below, but I really needed to get rid of my overambitious TBRs!

Spring Equinox 2023 TBR

This month my TBR is dedicated to the Magical Readathon! Check out my post to find out what I’m planning to read in April 👀

Divider2 (2)

What were you up to in March? Did you read any good books? I hope you’re doing well! 📖

13 thoughts on “What I’ve been up to in March 🌼 More Research & Lots of Audiobooks

  1. Thanks for sharing my posts! 😍 I’m glad to hear that your mental health is looking up but I’m sorry to hear about your frustrations with your thesis and advisor! That sounds so frustrating and how you’re feeling is so valid—that would drive me up the wall! I’m so glad that you loved Ro Devereux cos that’s one of my favourite reads so far this year. SUCH a good story and deserves to get more love! I hope you have an amazing April and that things go well with the thesis and survey. Enjoy your time at home, your birthday and the readathon! 😃💜

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am so happy your mental health was better this month and I hope it continues to improve in April. Sending lots of best wishes your way 🥰💗
    I am sorry you didn’t always have the energy to physically read as much as you wanted, it can be such a safe haven and I hope you are able to do more in April. I am so glad you discovered some new favourites though, especially This Is Not A Personal Statement. I loved the sound of its premise.
    It is a shame The Dragon’s Promise has a average rating, it sounds like a good series.
    Thank you soooo much for sharing my posts ❤️💗

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Sophie! 💕
      Audiobooks really came through for me in April! This Is Not A Personal Statement was such a good book, I loved the twist on the college setting and the audiobook was great 🥰 I was so sad about The Dragon’s Promise, it just didn’t live up to the first book 😔

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I recently read The Very Secret Society and it was so cute! I really do wanna reread Lockwood and Co (and carry on because I didn’t read on) before I watch the show but a) where to fit them in and b) we all know Netflix’s reputation with renewals…

    Heartbreak High was fun to watch lol.
    I’ve got non-fictions on the list for Devour Your TBR April so let’s hope they’re fun and easy to read – I think I’ve read like maybe 1-3 nonfics over the years since I’ve started blogging lol

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Unfortunately I dnfed the one nonfic and heavily disliked the other 😄 . I’ve got 2 of Carrie Fisher’s memoirs as owned physical books so I hope I can read at least one of them next month.
        I love Carrie Fisher so I hope that’ll be a good read!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.