Monthly Wrapups

What I’ve been up to in September 🍂 Turning in my Thesis (!!!) & Moving

Hello fellow bookworms 🍂 Though the weather is still too warm for my liking, Autumn is just around the corner 🎃 September was one of the most eventful months in quite some time 😂 Between my thesis, moving and so many things to organize, I’m now tired at the end of the month. I’ll also be in Japan next month, so I’ll be on hiatus from the 2nd to the 15th of October! My next post will be on the 19th when I’m back again! 😱

Important Resources

https://dotherightthing.carrd.co/WHO COVID Guidelines (2023)

Help Turky & Syria ●  Help PalestineHelp the Ukraine

Support Trans People (Carrd, Resources) ● Abortion Access (US)

Divider2
whatiread

🔁 = Reread 💌 = Library Books ⌛ = Digital Arc

📚 = #ProjectBacklist 📖 = #DevourYourTBR 😊 = Buddy Read & Book Club

I read 20 books in September! Since I won’t be able to read all the spooky books in October due to travelling, I picked up quite a few autumnal/spooky reads this month 👻 I also read lots of graphic novels/manga, as I was really in the mood for it, especially since I’ll be in Japan soon 🥰 I got unlucky with my audiobooks in September, because I didn’t like half of them and had some disappointing reads that I expected a lot more from! That being said, I also had some amazing reads and finally started reading the One Piece Manga! I watched the live-action adaptation and was keen to read the source material. I honestly never thought I’d be interested in One Piece, but now I’m hooked 😱 I have SO much to catch up on though 😂

OOCZUpdate

I read 9 books out of my comfort zone this month! Now that it’s officially Fall, I’ve been reading all the spooky/witchy books and it has been amazing 👻 Sadly I liked half of the book, but the other half was a bit disappointing!

  • The Weight of Blood (Tiffany D. Jackson) ⭐⭐⭐⭐💌📖🎧
  • Through the Woods (Emily Carroll) ⭐⭐⭐⭐💌
  • Greymist Fair (Francesca Zappia) ⭐⭐⭐⭐💌📖😊
  • The Ex Hex (Erin Sterling) ⭐⭐⭐⭐💌📖🎧
  • Mortal Follies (Alexis Hall) ⭐⭐⭐⭐💌📖🎧
  • Divine Rivals (Rebecca Ross) ⭐⭐⭐.5 💌📖
  • How to Sell a Haunted House (Grady Hendrix) ⭐⭐⭐.5 💌🎧
  • Pageboy (Elliot Page) ⭐⭐⭐.5 💌🎧
  • The Paris Apartment (Lucy Foley) ⭐⭐.5 💌🎧
Divider2

1. One Piece Vol 1. (Eiichiro Oda) ⭐⭐⭐⭐.5 📚📖

2. One Piece Vol 2. (Eiichiro Oda) ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 💌📖

3. Fangirl Vol 3. (Rainbow Rowell, Gabi Nam) ⭐⭐⭐⭐.5 💌

4. Garlic and the Witch (Bree Paulsen) ⭐⭐⭐⭐.5 💌📖

5. The Weight of Blood (Tiffany D. Jackson) ⭐⭐⭐⭐💌📖🎧

6. Through the Woods (Emily Carroll) ⭐⭐⭐⭐💌

7. All of Our Demise (Foody, Herman) ⭐⭐⭐⭐💌📖🎧

8. A Man and His Cat Vol. 1 (Umi Sakurai) ⭐⭐⭐⭐💌

9. The Fall of Whit Rivera (Crystal Maldonado) ⭐⭐⭐⭐

10. Hollow (Watters, Boyer-White, Nelle) ⭐⭐⭐⭐💌📖

11. Greymist Fair (Francesca Zappia) ⭐⭐⭐⭐💌📖😊

12. This Coven Won’t Break (Isabel Sterling) ⭐⭐⭐⭐💌📖🎧

13. The Secrets of the Stormforest (L.D Lapinski) ⭐⭐⭐⭐📚📖

14. The Ex Hex (Erin Sterling) ⭐⭐⭐⭐💌📖🎧

15. Mortal Follies (Alexis Hall) ⭐⭐⭐⭐💌📖🎧

16. Divine Rivals (Rebecca Ross) ⭐⭐⭐.5 💌📖

17. How to Sell a Haunted House (Grady Hendrix) ⭐⭐⭐.5 💌🎧

18. Pageboy (Elliot Page) ⭐⭐⭐.5 💌🎧

19. Give Me a Sign (Anna Sortino) ⭐⭐⭐.5 💌🎧

20. The Paris Apartment (Lucy Foley) ⭐⭐.5 💌🎧

Divider2

Favorite Books 💕

Divider2
whatiposted

What I’ve been up to in August ☀️ Magical Readathon & Summer Vibes ~ (Overdue) Arc Review: This Golden Flame by Emily Victoria 💛 Underrated Fantasy Alert

Books on my Autumn TBR 🍂 Horror, Mystery & Dark Academia ~ Arc Review: The Hunting Moon by Susan Dennard 🌙 🐺

The Autumn Lover Blog Tag 🍂 favorites & my bucket list ~ Arc Review: The Fall of Whit Rivera by Crystal Maldonado 🍂 It’s PSL season!

Divider2
faveposts

For this section I’m sharing my Favorite Blog Posts of the Month 💗

Divider2
life stuff

I finally handed in my Thesis! Can you believe it?? Because I sure can’t! It has been over a year of working on my Master’s thesis and suffering through the bad supervision full of miscommunication and delays. I never thought it would take me this long to finally turn in my thesis, but I’m glad that it’s done now! I’m ready to be done with this chapter of my life, as the whole experience was so frustrating. Now let’s hope I get a decent grade – I’m not 100% happy with the finished product, but I did the best I could with what is was given. I’ll be sad to leave studying behind though, as I love the freedom it gave me and I definitely feel daunted by the job market 🙈

I also moved out of my apartment. I knew I’d move back home in between finishing my degree and starting a job, so I moved out at the end of the month. It really broke my heart, as – despite its flaws – I really liked the apartment, it’s the first one that felt like I was home there 💔 I loved having my own space and my neighbors were all so nice – it’s hard for me to believe that I’ll get this lucky again 😢 I also had to say Goodbye to one of my closest friends in town and despite knowing we’ll keep in contact, it was tough 🥺

🍂 What I Watched in September 🍂

Watched some amazing shows this month! My favorite was definitely One Piece, I’m now reading the Manga and I’m just in time to buy all the Merch when I go to Japan 😎

  

  • One Piece (S1)
  • Komi Can’t Communicate (S1)
  • Kotaro Lives Alone (S1)

  • Midnight Mass (S1)
  • Ragnorak (S3)

Divider2

looking ahead

Wait – it’s already October?? I’m not at all ready for the year to be ending again! On the bright side, it’s finally Halloween month and I’m praying for the weather to cool down a lot more soon 🎃 I’ll also be in Japan until the 15th and that feels very surreal as well – I can’t believe it’s actually happening! 😱 I hope to read some spooky books and watch some spooky shows when I come back and have some time – especially as I‘m taking the rest of the month off! I spend so much time working on my thesis, it’s time to relax a bit before I start the next chapter of my story.

📚 #DevourYourTBR 📚

“It’s spooky season, and it’s time to bust out the spooky reads! This month is all about horror, mystery/thrillers, and dark fantasy.”

© DevourYourTBR

👻 October TBR 👻

One of my resolutions for 2023 is to start the month with a TBR of no more than 6 books! 📖 I’m going to read more than the books listed below, but I really needed to get rid of my overambitious TBRs!

  • Dead Silence (S.A. Barnes) 💌📖💗
  • Thirteen Storeys (Jonathan Sims) 📚📖💗
  • The Haunting of Maddy Clare (Simone St. James) 📚📖💗

Divider2 (2)

What were you up to in September? Did you read any good books? Are you excited for autumn? How do you deal with change? I hope you’re doing well! 🍂

26 thoughts on “What I’ve been up to in September 🍂 Turning in my Thesis (!!!) & Moving

  1. I had no interest in one piece but then I watched the live action adaptation, and now i’m in love with the story! I definitely would be reading the manga/watching the anime when I have more time on my hands. (the 1000-odd episodes are…intimidating, to say the least) I love the straw hat crew sm ❤
    congrats on turning in your thesis, and enjoy your time in Japan!! hope you have a great month ahead!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Love that we had the same journey with One Piece 😄 The live action adaptation really made me fall in love with the Straw Hat Crew 🥺 I’m reading the Manga/watching the Anime right now, but I’m taking it slow since there’s SO much content 😂
      Thank you!! I hope you’re doing well 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. YAY congratulations on turning in your thesis, SO happy for you!! And Japan, so many exciting adventures ahead. Wishing you a safe, wonderful trip and come back with billions of pictures!! 🥰🥰

    Liked by 1 person

  3. WOO! Congrats on submitting your thesis! 🥳 You deserve to celebrate! I remember how bittersweet it was when I left Australia and the UK after finish my degrees but it’s great to know that you’ll definitely be keeping in touch with your friends. Hopefully it won’t be too long until you see them again. And OMG I’m so the same with One Piece! I never thought I’d be interested but I started the live action and immediately fell in love with it. I haven’t started the manga but I have started the anime and wow, it’s *long* (and the Netflix show compresses the storyline a lot) and I didn’t even realise the story wasn’t finished until my friend mentioned it last week, lol. 😅 Have a safe and amazing time in Japan!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Dini! ❤️ I’m glad that I’m finally done with the thesis 🥳 – it was going on for way too long! I’m sad to go, but also relieved to move on from this part. Omg I love that we literally had the same One Piece journey 😂 I was interested in the Netflix show because I knew how beloved One Piece was, but I never expected to get obsessed so quickly! I’m slowly reading the Manga/watching the Anime, but there’s decades worth of content 🙈 Thank you! I hope you’re doing well 🥰

      Like

  4. It was so much fun to read about your September. You’ve definitely convinced me to pick up a few of those books and I totally want to start One Piece–though I’m not sure whether I want to start the live action, the manga, or the anime! So many places I could start haha. I know how hard it is to move from a place that you love. I hope you find that peace and happiness in another place in your future.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! If you don’t already watch lots of Anime / read Manga I’d recommend starting with the live action adaptation – it’s super easy to binge-watch and a fun introduction to the world 🥰 Thank you! I hope you’re doing well 😊

      Like

  5. Wohooo congratulations Caro!!! 🥳 I hope you’re having a great rest and holiday so far 🙂

    I’m about to start the audiobook for Weight of Blood, how did you enjoy it? Also, I’ve heard so many great things about Thirteen Storeys, I hope you’ll enjoy it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Congrats on handing in your thesis 🥳 That’s amazing! Best of luck with your next steps! Of course, I hope you are having the best time in Japan at the minute! 😍 I look forward to hearing about it in your next wrap-up if you choose to talk about it.
    Ah.. all of the One Piece hype is tempting me to watch it! It looks fun and I always love pirates!
    I am sorry you had some disappointing reads this month though, Divine Rivals and Pageboy sounded really good. At least you liked aspects of them.
    Thank you so much for sharing my posts!! 🥰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Sophie! ❤️🥳 I had such a lovely time in Japan and I’m planning to do an extra post about that 🥰 I definitely recommend the One Piece Netflix show it was SO much fun and I never expected to get this invested 😄
      Divine Rivals and Pageboy definitely had potential! I know lots of people liked them 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Congrats on finishing your thesis! I hope you get the grade you want, you deserve it! 💖

    It sounds like so many exciting things have happened for you while I’ve been away. The trip to Japan sounds amazing, I hope you have the best time! I’d love to visit there one day. 😁 I haven’t been reading much lately but I am very excited for autumn and Halloween. I’ve been drinking a lot of pumpkin spice lattes 😂

    What did you think of Komi Can’t Communicate? It’s one of my favourite animes and I’m a few volumes into the manga as well.

    Wishing you all the best on your trip, have a wonderful October! 💖

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Abi! ❤️ I had such a good time in Japan and now I already want to go back to explore more places 🥺 I hope you get to visit someday! Ohh the pumpkin spice lattes are always delicious! I hope you can enjoy the season 🎃

      I loved Komi Can’t Communicate!! The anime was so good and I’m 13 or so volumes into the Manga now – the story feels like such a comfort for me 🥰
      Thank you! I hope you’re doing well 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m so glad to hear you had a good time in Japan! 🌟 I’ve definitely been having my fair share of pumpkin spice and trying to enjoy autumn to the fullest 🎃

        Komi really is such a sweet and comforting story! I’m only 5 volumes into the manga at the moment – I would like to read more but my library doesn’t have them and buying manga can get expensive pretty quickly 😣 I need to try joining some more libraries online!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m so sad October is already over, but at least we still have November to enjoy Autumn before Christmas comes 😄

        Komi is truly the best, it’s so easy to binge the volumes 🥰 My library luckily has a lot of them, but getting into Manga means SO many volumes for most of the series 🙈

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.