Monthly Wrapups

What I’ve been up to in October 🎃 Visiting Japan for the first time!

Hello fellow bookworms 🎃 Happy Halloween!! October felt so far away and it’s surreal that the month is already over now! I was in Japan until the 15th and this made October the best month of the year so far 🥺 I really needed this break after the frustrations with my Master’s thesis this past year and I’m SO sad that the holiday is already over now 😭 I desperately need to visit Japan again, as I loved it so much and there’s still a lot to see!

Important Resources

Help Palestine: Carrd, Help with one Click, Ceasefire Now, Donation Links

https://dotherightthing.carrd.co/WHO COVID Guidelines (2023)

Help Turky & SyriaHelp the Ukraine

Support Trans PeopleAbortion Access (US)

Divider2
whatiread

🔁 = Reread 💌 = Library Books ⌛ = Digital Arc

📚 = #ProjectBacklist 📖 = #DevourYourTBR 😊 = Buddy Read & Book Club

I read 20 books in October! That’s a bit surprising, given that I was on holiday for a large chunk of the month, but I also read 14 Mangas! I’ve read and enjoyed Manga before but after visiting Japan my love has only increased 🥺 I read the first 13 volumes of Komi Can’t Communicate because I loved the Netflix Anime adaptation and the Manga is just as amazing! I definitely want to catch up with this series by the end of the year. I also continued reading One Piece and I’m watching the Anime at the same time (there’s so much content to consume 😂) 💗 In the end, I did manage to include some spooky books after all, even though I didn’t read as many as I would have liked to – there simply wasn’t enough time!

OOCZUpdate

I read 6 books out of my comfort zone this month! Despite being on holiday I managed to read a couple of Horror books (though My Roommate Is a Vampire is an Adult Paranormal Romance) 👻 I finally read Dead Silence and I loved it!! So creepy 😱

  • Dead Silence (S.A. Barnes) ⭐⭐⭐⭐💌📖
  • The Haunting of Maddy Clare (Simone St. James) ⭐⭐⭐⭐📚📖
  • My Roommate Is a Vampire (Jenna Levine) ⭐⭐⭐⭐💌📖🎧
  • Your Lonely Nights Are Over (Adam Sass) ⭐⭐⭐⭐ 💌📖
  • Night of the Living Queers (edited by Shelly Page & Alex Brown) ⭐⭐⭐.5 💌📖
  • Silver Nitrate (Silvia Moreno-Garcia) ⭐⭐ 💌📖🎧
Divider2

One Piece, Vol. 3: Don't Get Fooled Again by Eiichiro Oda Komi Can't Communicate, Vol. 1 by Tomohito Oda Komi Can't Communicate, Vol. 2 by Tomohito Oda

1. One Piece Vol 3. (Eiichiro Oda) ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 💌

2. Komi Can’t Communicate Vol 1. (Tomohito Oda) ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 💌

3. Komi Can’t Communicate Vol 2. (Tomohito Oda) ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 💌

Komi Can't Communicate, Vol. 3 by Tomohito Oda Komi Can't Communicate, Vol. 4 by Tomohito Oda Komi Can't Communicate, Vol. 5 by Tomohito Oda

4. Komi Can’t Communicate Vol 3. (Tomohito Oda) ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 💌

5. Komi Can’t Communicate Vol 4. (Tomohito Oda) ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 💌

6. Komi Can’t Communicate Vol 5. (Tomohito Oda) ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 💌

Komi Can't Communicate, Vol. 6 by Tomohito Oda Komi Can't Communicate, Vol. 7 by Tomohito Oda Komi Can't Communicate, Vol. 8 by Tomohito Oda

7. Komi Can’t Communicate Vol 6. (Tomohito Oda) ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 💌

8. Komi Can’t Communicate Vol 7. (Tomohito Oda) ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 💌

9. Komi Can’t Communicate Vol 8. (Tomohito Oda) ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 💌

Komi Can't Communicate, Vol. 9 by Tomohito Oda Komi Can't Communicate, Vol. 10 by Tomohito Oda Komi Can't Communicate, Vol. 11 by Tomohito Oda

10. Komi Can’t Communicate Vol 9. (Tomohito Oda) ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 💌

11. Komi Can’t Communicate Vol 10. (Tomohito Oda) ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 💌

12. Komi Can’t Communicate Vol 11. (Tomohito Oda) ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 💌

Komi Can't Communicate, Vol. 12 by Tomohito Oda Komi Can't Communicate, Vol. 13 by Tomohito Oda Dead Silence by S.A. Barnes

13. Komi Can’t Communicate Vol 12. (Tomohito Oda) ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 💌

14. Komi Can’t Communicate Vol 13. (Tomohito Oda) ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 💌

15. Dead Silence (S.A. Barnes) ⭐⭐⭐⭐💌📖

The Haunting of Maddy Clare by Simone St. James My Roommate Is a Vampire by Jenna Levine Your Lonely Nights Are Over by Adam Sass

16. The Haunting of Maddy Clare (Simone St. James) ⭐⭐⭐⭐📚📖

17. My Roommate Is a Vampire (Jenna Levine) ⭐⭐⭐⭐💌📖🎧

18. Your Lonely Nights Are Over (Adam Sass) ⭐⭐⭐⭐ 💌📖

Night of the Living Queers by Alex Brown, Shelly Page Silver Nitrate by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

19. Night of the Living Queers (edited by Shelly Page & Alex Brown) ⭐⭐⭐.5 💌📖

20. Silver Nitrate (Silvia Moreno-Garcia) ⭐⭐ 💌📖🎧

Divider2

Favorite Books 💕

Divider2
whatiposted

👻Spooky 👻 Book Recommendations ~ Mysteries & Witchy Stories ~ Review: System Collapse by Martha Wells 👀 Murderbot’s having a mental breakdown and so am I

Spooky & Mysterious Shows to Watch this Autumn 👻🍂

Divider2
faveposts

For this section I’m sharing my Favorite Blog Posts of the Month 💗

Divider2
life stuff

I visited Japan for the first time! 🏯 I was super nervous about flying solo and finding nice people in the travel group, but I got lucky! The group was pretty small (around 15 people) and everyone was very nice, including our tour guide who did his best to make it an unforgettable experience. I mainly hung out with a woman I’d spoken to before on WhatsApp – she’s around my mother’s age and liked Anime/Manga! I really got on well with and and her best friend, who was also travelling with us 🥺 I’ll make a separate post about my Japan visit as there is so much to tell, but suffice to say I loved it 💗 Japan is such a beautiful country and I loved what I saw so far. I didn’t want to leave, as the 10 days flew by way too fast and I was the happiest I’ve been in a very long time 😭 I was proud of myself that I managed to go through with this despite my anxiety and now I really want to travel more in the future! I was never brave enough, because I didn’t want to go alone, but joining an organized group tour is a good way to travel without being completely alone. Idk if I’ll have such good luck with the group again, but it was so important for me to know that I can do it! 🥺

In the very of the month I got the grade for my thesis. I have to admit that I’m not happy with my grade as it doesn’t reflect the amount of work and time I put into it at all. It’s my worst grade and I’m mostly angry at my supervisor for making my thesis so difficult. I definitely know the weakpoints of my thesis and part of me wasn’t surprised of the grade at all, but it still felt unfair. I don’t know what I could have done to improve my grade, I literally did everything I could to make it good. Despite my anger, I’m mainly just happy that I’m finally done with my horrible supervisor and have my degree!

🎃 What I Watched in October 🎃

I barely watched anything because I was pretty busy, but I managed to finish the last season of Sex Education with my friend! I also rewatched my favorite Halloween movie 💗


  • Sex Education (S4)
  • The Nightmare Before Christmas (Movie) 🔁
  • Currently Watching 📺 One Piece (S1), The Fall of the House of Usher (S1)

Divider2

looking ahead

It’s November and I’m starting to get nervous 😱 How is the year almost over?? It felt like we just started 2023 and now I have to prepare for the end of the year already! Historically November has been my worst month of the year for some reason (why is it cursed??), but I really hope it won’t be as bad this year! Mainly because I have to start job hunting and the whole process is kicking my anxiety into overdrive 🙈 I don’t know how fast I’ll find something and when I do, I’ll have to find a new apartment and move all my things again! The ending of this year is going to be busy 😱  Luckily, I have the #ClearUrSht 4.0 Readathon to look forward to! It runs until the end of the year and is all about tackling your unread owned books 📚 My TBR will be coming next week 🥰

📚 #DevourYourTBR 📚

“Remember November is all about reading books you didn’t get to from your previous 2023 TBRs. This might be something you had on a readathon TBR earlier in the year, or a book you were so excited to purchase but then it sat collecting dust on your shelf.”

© DevourYourTBR

🍂 November TBR 🍂

One of my resolutions for 2023 is to start the month with a TBR of no more than 6 books! 📖 I’m going to read more than the books listed below, but I really needed to get rid of my overambitious TBRs!

Thirteen Storeys by Jonathan Sims The Library of Shadows by Rachel Moore The Whispering Dark by Kelly Andrew

  • Thirteen Storeys (Jonathan Sims) 📚📖💗 (from my October TBR)
  • The Library of Shadows (Rachel Moore) 💌📖 (Discord Book Club Pick from October)
  • The Whispering Dark (Kelly Andrew) 📚📖 (Discord Book Club Pick for November)
The Last Time I Lied by Riley Sager Home Before Dark by Riley Sager I Feed Her to the Beast and the Beast Is Me by Jamison Shea
  • The Last Time I Lied (Riley Sager) 💌📖💗
  • Home Before Dark (Riley Sager) 📚📖💗
  • I Feed Her to the Beast and the Beast Is Me (Jamison Shea) 💌📖💗🎧

Divider2 (2)

What were you up to in October? Did you read any spooky books? Where would you like to travel? I hope you’re doing well! 🎃

11 thoughts on “What I’ve been up to in October 🎃 Visiting Japan for the first time!

  1. I am so happy you loved Japan and the people in your group were lovely. I definitely think it is an incredible achievement to solo travel and I love that this trip has inspired you to try it more 🥰 I look forward to hearing more about your travels! 🌸
    I am sorry to hear you were a bit disappointed in your thesis result, it is a hard feeling to swallow but I hope you find comfort in the fact you did as best you could with all the hardships you faced. You can definitely put that horrible supervisor behind you. Sending hugs 🤗
    I am glad you enjoyed Dead Silence, but I am sad to see Silver Nitrate had a low rating. It sounded so good. What didn’t work for you?
    Best of luck with your next steps in November and I hope the month’s curse is broken. Thank you so much for sharing my posts ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! ❤️ I’m so grateful that I had such good luck with the group and tour guide – we had an amazing time that I’ll remember for a long time 🥺 I’m hoping to share more this month!

      Thanks *hugs* 🥰 I’ve gotten over the first shock and now I’m just glad that it’s done and I can leave this part of my journey in the past!

      Dead Silence was such a good sci-fi Horror! I wanted to like Silver Nitrate but the story didn’t engage me at all and I found the plot painfully slow 😢

      I hope you have a great November! ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  2. So happy you had such a great time in Japan, can’t wait to hear all about your adventures, there!! 🥰 and I’m so sorry about your grade, but congratulations on graduating! and wishing you all the best of luck for job hunting, it’s a jungle out there but you can do it!! 🥰
    I hope November will be kind to you, sending you so much love ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m SO happy that your trip went so well!! I’m so proud of you for overcoming your anxiety and doing something so big and frightening alone – the idea of going to another, unfamiliar country all by myself absolutely terrifies me so I’m genuinely just amazed and beyond proud of you! 🥰🥰

    I’m so sorry your thesis grade wasn’t better 😭 I feel like you all should have gotten bonus points just for putting up with such a terrible situation!! But congratulations on being DONE with it!!!! 🥳🥳🥳

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.