Monthly Wrapups

What I’ve been up to in December πŸŽ„Merry Crisis

Hello fellow bookworms πŸŽ„ December wasn’t the best month for me, which is a bit of a bummer, as it’s usually my favorite. Between job hunting and everyone in my family getting sick, things just didn’t go well for me. I’m praying that January is a bit better, as I’m in need of some perspectives on how my future will look once I’ve found a job πŸ™πŸ» Normally I’m posting my 2023 wrapup on New Year’s Eve, but it’ll be a bit delayed this year – this week hasn’t been the best, so I’m still working on it!

Important Resources

Help Palestine: Carrd, Help with one Click, Ceasefire Now, Decolonize Palestine

https://dotherightthing.carrd.co/ ● WHO COVID Guidelines (2023)

Help Turky & Syria ● Help the Ukraine

Support Trans People ● Abortion Access (US)

Divider2
whatiread

πŸ” = Reread πŸ’Œ = Library Books βŒ› = Digital Arc

πŸ“š = #ProjectBacklist πŸ“– = #DevourYourTBR 😊 = Buddy Read & Book Club

I read 20 books in December! It was a good mix of books this month. I read a ton of festive books (though there are still many more on my TBR) and tackled 8 books from my Owned TBR for #ClearUrSht! πŸ₯° I lowkey wish I had read even more for the Readathon, but I struggled with concentrating on my reads this month. It might have been the general stress from job hunting, but it was tough to read physical books and not get distracted! Nevertheless, I managed to listen to some audiobooks, tackle some of my Kindle reads and also read some Manga πŸ’•

OOCZUpdate

I read 3 books out of my comfort zone this month! This is probably the month with the least number of books read, but I don’t mind! I didn’t branch out with my genres, as I was mainly reading festive books. I did read three Adult Romances though 😊

  • Make You Mine This Christmas (Lizzie Huxley-Jones) β­β­β­β­πŸ“šπŸ“–
  • A Merry Little Meet Cute (Murphy, Simone) β­β­β­β­πŸ“šπŸ“–
  • All I Want for Christmas (Maggie Knox) ⭐⭐.5 πŸ“šπŸ“–
Divider2

Make You Mine This Christmas by Lizzie Huxley-JonesΒ A Merry Little Meet Cute by Julie Murphy, Sierra Simone Love in Winter Wonderland by Abiola Bello

1. Make You Mine This Christmas (Lizzie Huxley-Jones) β­β­β­β­πŸ“šπŸ“–

2. A Merry Little Meet Cute (Murphy, Simone) β­β­β­β­πŸ“šπŸ“–

3. Winter Wonderland (Abiola Bello) β­β­β­β­πŸ“šπŸ“–πŸŽ§

Heartstopper Volume 5 by Alice Oseman Stepfather Christmas: A Festive Countdown Story in 25 Chapters by L.D. Lapinski This Vicious Grace by Emily Thiede

4. Heartstopper Vol 5. (Alice Oseman) ⭐⭐⭐⭐.5πŸ“šπŸ“–

5. Stepfather Christmas (L.D. Lapinski) β­β­β­β­πŸ“šπŸ“–

6. This Vicious Grace (Emily Thiede) β­β­β­β­πŸ“šπŸ“–πŸŽ§

Mislaid in Parts Half-Known by Seanan McGuire All I Want for Christmas by Maggie Knox

7. Mislaid in Parts Half-Known (Seanan McGuire) β­β­β­β­β³πŸ“–

8. All I Want for Christmas (Maggie Knox) ⭐⭐.5 πŸ“šπŸ“–

One Piece, Vol. 9: Tears by Eiichiro Oda One Piece, Vol. 10: OK, Let's Stand Up! by Eiichiro Oda One Piece, Vol. 11: The Meanest Man in the East by Eiichiro Oda

9. One Piece Vol. 9 (Eiichiro Oda) β­β­β­β­β­πŸ’ŒπŸ“–

10. One Piece Vol. 10 (Eiichiro Oda) β­β­β­β­β­πŸ’ŒπŸ“–

11. One Piece Vol. 11 (Eiichiro Oda) β­β­β­β­β­πŸ’ŒπŸ“–

One Piece, Vol. 12: The Legend Begins by Eiichiro Oda A Man and His Cat, Volume 2 by Umi Sakurai The Girl from the Other Side: SiΓΊil, a RΓΊn Vol. 7 by Nagabe

12. One Piece Vol 12. (Eiichiro Oda) β­β­β­β­β­πŸ’ŒπŸ“–

13. A Man and his Cat Vol. 2 (Umi Sakurai) β­β­β­β­πŸ’ŒπŸ“–

14. The Girl from the Other Side Vol. 7 (Nagabe) β­β­β­β­πŸ’ŒπŸ“–

Β Escape from Aurora by Jamie Littler Rise of the World Eater by Jamie Littler Hollowthorn by Kalyn Josephson

15. Escape from Aurora (Jamie Littler) β­β­β­β­πŸ’ŒπŸ“–πŸŽ§

16. Rise of the World Eater (Jamie Littler) β­β­β­β­πŸ’ŒπŸ“–πŸŽ§

17. Hollowthorn (Kalyn Josephson) β­β­β­β­πŸ’ŒπŸ“–πŸŽ§

The Christmasaurus and the Naughty List by Tom Fletcher Eight Dates and Nights by Betsy Aldredge The Christmas Clash by Suzanne Park

18. The Christmasaurus and the Naughty List (Tom Fletcher) β­β­β­β­πŸ’ŒπŸ“–

19. Eight Dates and Nights (Betsy Aldredge) β­β­β­β­πŸ’ŒπŸ“–πŸŽ§

20. The Christmas Clash (Suzanne Park) ⭐⭐.5 πŸ’ŒπŸ“–πŸŽ§

Divider2

Favorite Books πŸ’•

One Piece, Vol. 9: Tears by Eiichiro Oda Heartstopper Volume 5 by Alice Oseman

Divider2
whatiposted

What I’ve been up to in November πŸ‚ Job Hunting & the end of Autumn ~ The Winter Wonderland Book Tag ❄️ *wishing for some snow*

Book Review: You’d Be Home Now πŸ’” Kathleen Glasgow breaks by heart again ~ Cozy Christmas Book Recommendations πŸŽ„ ~ Least Favorite Books 2023 😱 Bring on the unpopular opinions

Favorite TV Shows I watched in 2023 πŸ“Ί ~ Favorite Books of 2023 πŸ† to all the books I’ve loved this year!

Divider2
faveposts

For this section I’m sharing my Favorite Blog Posts of the Month πŸ’—

Divider2
life stuff

November wasn’t cursed this year, but December might have been. I wasn’t in a festive mood at all due to my continued struggles with job hunting. I still haven’t found a job and the few interviews I had weren’t successful, which was a big disappointment for me. I’ve written 60 applications so far and it feels like I’m starting over in the new year since I’ve either had rejections or didn’t make it farther into the interview process. The longer my job search goes on, the more desperate I get, as right now I cannot imagine ever finding a job! I really want to move out of my childhood bedroom and finally have my privacy again. I also got sick the week before Christmas and my grandmother & father caught COVID during the holidays, so I’m currently hiding out in my room as everyone in our household is sick πŸ˜“ I was actually taking a week off from job hunting between the holidays, but obviously I couldn’t relax at all and I’m not feeling recovered for the new year πŸ™ˆ

πŸŽ„ What I Watched in December πŸŽ„

I always watch the most movies in December, but didn’t see as many compared to last year! I also continued watching One Piece (I’m currently on season 4) and checked out some shorter TV series 😊


  • One Piece (S2+3)
  • Arthur Christmas πŸ” (Movie)
  • Home Alone 1 πŸ” (Movie)

Β 

  • Home Alone 2 πŸ” (Movie)
  • Christmas with the Kranks πŸ” (Movie)
  • Family Switch (Movie)

  • Last Christmas (Movie)
  • Storm for Christmas (S1)
  • Best. Christmas. Ever! (Movie)

  • I Hate Christmas (S1)
  • All the Light We Cannot See (S1)
  • Dear Child (S1)

Divider2

looking ahead

New Year … new hope? πŸŽ† Normally I love the excitement of the new year, but this time around it’s going to be a quiet start into 2024 as everyone else is still sick. My plans remain the same: I’m continuing my job hunt and I’m praying for some good news soon, as I’m starting to get worried that it’s taking so long to find something! Apart from that, I’m excited to read some good books and continue watching the One Piece anime (I’m not kidding, it’s one of the only things keeping me going right now). I have no idea what January will bring, so let’s hope for the best πŸ™πŸ»

πŸ“š #DevourYourTBR πŸ“š

“Kick off the year with books already on your TBR! If you’ve never read it and you owned it (or had it on your TBR) prior to January 1, 2024, it counts for this challenge.”

Β© DevourYourTBR

❄️ January TBR ❄️

One of my resolutions for 2024 is to start the month with a TBR of no more than 6 books! πŸ“– I’m going to read more than the books listed below, but I really needed to get rid of my overambitious TBRs!

Bookshops & Bonedust by Travis BaldreeΒ Spy x Family: Family Portrait by Aya Yajima, Tatsuya Endo One Piece, Vol. 13: It's All Right! by Eiichiro Oda

  • Bookshops & Bonedust (Abiola Bello) πŸ’ŒπŸ“–πŸ’—πŸŽ§ (Discord Book Club Pick for January)
  • Spy x Family: Family Portrait (Tatsuya Endo, Aya Yajima) πŸ“šπŸ“–
  • One Piece Vol. 13 (Eiichiro Oda) πŸ’ŒπŸ“–

In the Event of Love by Courtney Kae The Getaway List by Emma Lord So, This Is Love by Tracy Andreen

  • In the Event of Love (Courtney Kae) πŸ“šπŸ“–πŸ’—
  • The Getaway List (Emma Lord) β³πŸ“–
  • So, This Is Love (Tracy Andreen) πŸ’ŒπŸ“–

Divider2 (2)

What were you up to in December? What are you planning to read first in 2024? Any goals for the new year? I hope you’re doing well! πŸŽ„

17 thoughts on “What I’ve been up to in December πŸŽ„Merry Crisis

  1. Aw see you read some Christmas books this December. Sad to see some were a bust. I had that happen with one of the Christmas books I read too. Also, what did you think of Best. Christmas. Ever! ? I see Brandy was in that movie. Huge fan of her from her Cinderella days.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad that there were at least some great reads among the Christmas books! 😊 I enjoyed Best. Christmas. Ever, but it didn’t really blow me away – I think it just tried to tackle too many things and felt rushed in the end πŸ™ˆ

      Like

  2. I wish you a very good 2024! And all the best with the job search!! I also hope everyone has a speedy recovery! It really does sound like you’ve been through it this December πŸ˜”

    I’ve just picked up this vicious grace, so it’s great to see you have it 5 stars πŸ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m sorry December wasn’t the best for you, I hope everyone is feeling better and good luck with your job search!

    I keep forgetting that the 2nd book in Hollowthorn series is already released. Also, what do you think of the audiobook for These Vicious Grace? I want to read it but couldn’t find the time so I might pick up the audiobook…

    Thanks for sharing my post and hope you have a better January! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, everyone is feeling much better! ❀️
      Hollowthorn was really good and I think there is also going to be a third book! I really liked the audiobook for This Vicious Grace, the narrator was great 😊

      I hope you have a good January as well! πŸ₯°

      Like

  4. I’m so sorry to hear that December was so rough for you, Caro. The job hunt struggle is so real and it’s honestly one of the only things that’s keeping me in my current job right now. Maybe it won’t help you feel better but you’re not alone in your struggle to find work. Keep on keeping on and I know you’ll find something! I’m sending all the good positive vibes your way and I hope that it happens soon for you! πŸ«‚ At least it seems like you had a great end to your year of reading (save for the two duds). I hope 2024 will be an amazing year full of positivity, success and amazing reads, too. πŸŽ‰βœ¨πŸ’œ Thanks so much for featuring my posts!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so sorry December didn’t go well for you! Job hunting really is so difficult, you have my sympathy. Sending you all my best wishes that your luck changes soon πŸ₯°

      I hope your family recovers quickly and that the new year starts feeling like a fresh start for you ❀️ Your TBR looks good, and I’m glad you’ve been enjoying One Piece! The size of the series intimidates me too much to start it, but I’m planning to read more of some other manga series this year.

      My main goal for this year is to read more books than I buy each month. I think it should be a good way to keep my TBR under control! 😁 Wishing you all the best for the new year Caro πŸ₯°

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you, Abi! πŸ’— The job hunt is tricky right now, I hope that I get some good news soon πŸ™πŸ» Luckily, my family has recovered and we’re having a better January!

        One Piece has SO much content, but it’s also nice to have a lot to look forward to πŸ₯° I hope you have fun with the new Manga series you’re reading!
        Reading more books than you buy sounds like a great goal – best of luck!! I hope you had a good start into the new year ❀️

        Liked by 1 person

    2. Thank you so much for the kind words, Dini! πŸ₯Ίβ€οΈ The job hunt is tough right now and I’m glad to hear that I’m not the only one struggling right now! Sending lots of hugs to you as well πŸ₯°

      I hope you’ll be having a great 2024 as well! πŸ™πŸ»πŸ’—

      Like

  5. I’m sorry it’s been rough for you, Caro! Especially since you love Christmas so much, and you couldn’t enjoy it now. I hope you and your family have a speedy recovery! And I wish you strength for the ongoing job hunt!
    Happy New Year, fingers crossed January will be better!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. My dear Caro!!! πŸ₯Ή First, thank you very much for highlighting my posts in your beautiful blog, you know I deeply appreciate it 😍😍😍 & second, all the best for you in your job search, I am still in the same situation but I have the feeling that soon this will change for both of us, you will see that this 2024 will bring wonderful news. πŸ‘πŸ»βœ¨οΈπŸ‘πŸ»βœ¨οΈ
    And of course, hope you enjoy your readings this January!πŸ₯°

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the kind words, Sofi! ❀️πŸ₯Ί I really hope we both have some luck with our job search and can share some good news soon πŸ™πŸ»
      I hope you had a good start into the new year! πŸ₯°

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.