Monthly Wrapups

What I’ve been up to in September 🍂 Revision & Research

September Wrapup

Hello fellow bookworms 🍂 September officially marked the start of fall, so I’m happily living my best life wearing comfy sweaters and drinking the occasional pumpkin spice latte (why are they so expensive at Starbucks? 😥)! This was my last full month on semester break, as the new one will start towards the end of October and bring about the beginning of the end of my Bachelor studies *slight panic* Still, I enjoy the colder weather and have tried to make time for my favorite fall activities and use the last free weeks of my breaks as best as I can! It wasn’t the busiest (or the most exciting) month, but that’s okay because there’ll be plenty more busy weeks ahead until the end of the year!

Download
Me enjoying autumn 💕

Let's Talk (2)

whatiread

🔄 = Reread 💌 = Library Books

🌼 = Moody Reader Challenge 🐯 = #YARC2019

⌛ = Digital Arc 🎧 = Audiobook

After the intensity of the NEWT Readathon, I was back to mood reading in September! In total, I read 11 Books and noticed that my reading was very sci-fi heavy with 5 books – I don’t think I have ever read as many space books in one month! However, I was very in the mood for exploring space, partially encouraged by my new love for podcasts set in space and found reading the books in the genre the easiest to read. Meanwhile, I was getting a bit tired of royal epic fantasy books *gasp* because I didn’t feel excited about the storyline any longer (I still loved The Storm Crow, because it had a fantastic, interesting magic system and did lots of trope subversion! *insert crow emoji*). Now I will always LOVE Fantasy books, but I read so much in this genre that I needed to branch out this month instead of trying to force it! I also did lots of rereads, because they are great comfort reads for me, especially when I was getting stressed about my bachelor thesis (more on that later) and was reading more in intense bursts and not as consistently as I usually try to do. In the end, I also participated in the Currentathon (Twitter Thread HERE), which was great, because I really needed that weekend of reading ❤

All About Mood Reading

1. The Loneliest Girl in the Universe (Lauren James) ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️.5

2. The Storm Crow (Kalyn Josephson) ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

3. Solitaire (Alice Oseman) ⭐️⭐️⭐️ 💌

 

4. Defy the Stars (Claudia Grey) ⭐⭐⭐⭐💌 🌼

5. What if it’s Us (Albertalli, Silvera) ⭐️⭐️⭐️.5 💌 

6. Ruined (Amy Tintera) ⭐️⭐️⭐️ 💌 🌼

Rereads

7. Illuminae (Kaufman, Kristoff) ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐ 🔄

8. Gemina (Kaufman, Kristoff) ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐ 🔄

9. Obsidio (Kaufman, Kristoff) ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐ 🔄

10. The Burning Maze (Rick Riordan) ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐ 🔄

11. Fangirl (Rainbow Rowell) ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐ 🔄

Average Rating ⭐ 4.2

Favorite Book 💕

Let's Talk (2)

whatiposted

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

🍂 The Pancake Book Tag 🥞 🍂 Keep or Give Up Writing Challenge ☕ 

🍂 Review: If There’s No Tomorrow by Jennifer Armentrout 🍂 Space Books on my TBR 🌟 

🍂 The Harry Potter Book Tag ✨ 🍂 Getting Back to Writing #1: Into the Editing Cave 

🍂 It’s Finally Fall Book Tag 🍂 Time for Fall Recommendations 🍂🎃 feat seasonal favorites

faveposts

For this section of my wrapup I’m linking up with the Favorite Blog Posts of the Month Meme that has been created by Kristin @ kristinkravesbooks to showcase our favorite blogs of the month!

Let's Talk (2)

life stuff

I mainly worked on the Revision for my WIP. I’m still following Susan Dennard’s Revision Course and I’m trying to do as much as I can in my free time, as during the semester it’s always very intense. I’m aiming to continue working regularly on my writing in the next few months, but it won’t be easy. However, during September, I got even farther and I’m now in the second to last lesson, probably the longest one: applying the plans and changes to the manuscript. I admit that with researching for my thesis (and a series of workshops I had to do) I struggled and didn’t do anything writing-related for a week and a half. A lot was also due to some doubts about being able to craft a good story, but I’m definitely proud that I have gotten so far in the past month! 💕

Me during September

I was researching for my Bachelor Thesis! I’m still on my semester break, but I was long overdue to research what topic I want to choose for my bachelor thesis that I’m going to write next semester 😯 I should have started earlier but I needed some rest of the intense months of internships and writing several long papers for university. Still, I needed to figure out what I want to write about and did some research on some possibilities. That got me back into work mode and stressed me out a fair amount as well, making me behind on answering all your lovely comments because I wasn’t in the headspace to do so 😔 Mostly I stress myself out too much by being perfectionistic, so I wanted to find the perfect topic, because I’ll be working on this for a long time. Ultimately, I settled on wanting to do something on employee health, more specifically recovery after work! I have no idea how my Bachelor thesis will go – from planning with the professor to officially registering it and then doing the research project – because we hardly got much information, so I’m in for a surprise next semester 😅

Let's Talk (2)

looking ahead

This month’s theme: SPOOKY SCARY SKELETONS

Me getting spooky despite being a scaredy-cat 👻

You know it’s finally time to get SPOOKY!!! I have been waiting all year to annoy everyone with my love for Halloween and it’s spooky month now 😈 October is going to be a bit more busy than the last month, as I’m going to be starting my last semester at university towards the end of it and will have to finally talk to the professor about my bachelor thesis. I have no idea about anything that will happen in the future, because there honestly wasn’t much information on writing your bachelor thesis for us, so I don’t know when I’ll officially register or and how much time it’ll take me on a weekly basis. So, bear with me while I’m confused 😱 I will also be attending a book fair and I’m VERY excited because I got a press pass due to being a blogger – I wasn’t sure that they would verify me, but they did!!!!

Apart from that I will be reading ALL the spooky books and participating in several Readathons because there are so many great spooky ones and more great ones – it’s going to be a Readathon kind of month! I’m definitely in the mood to read the seasonally appropriate books that I have been saving for October and hope to get a lot of reading done before the semester starts again, as I have already amassed quite the TBR due to wanting to read ALL the things 📚

My Spooky TBR and what Readathons I’ll be joining will go up on Friday, so watch out for that 🎃

Let's Talk (1)

What were you up to in September? What was your favorite book this month? What is your favorite fall activity? 🍂

27 thoughts on “What I’ve been up to in September 🍂 Revision & Research

  1. Glad to hear you had a pretty good September! I really need to read The Loneliest Girl in the Universe – it sounds right up my alley. Well done for making it so far in the revision process!! I believe in you!! Are you planning on doing NaNoWriMo in November or continue revising? Also, good luck with balancing school and everything else, and I hope you enjoy the spooky month of October! 😀 (And thanks for linking my posts! ❤ )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s so great that it’s finally fall, I’m thriving in the cold weather 🍂 The Loneliest Girl was a great surprise! Easy to understand sci-fi and dealing with lots of interesting topics as well 👍

      Thank you so much!! 🥰 I won’t be able to do NaNoWriMo with my thesis starting and also because I have no idea outlined, so it will be mostly revision for me instead 😄 Thank you!! I hope you enjoy the spooky season as well 👻❤

      Like

  2. Love the spooky gifs 🙂
    “Stressed because trying to balance university with reading and blogging” really seems to be the season’s mood. I love fall but it’s not an easy time? Anyway, I’m glad you had a great month, and a sci-fi one at that! (…I don’t read that genre often enough.)
    And thank you for linking my post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I loved including them 👻
      Same! Fall is one of my favorite times of the year but it usually brings back university after a longer break in summer, so the work is set to begin soon for me 😮
      Thank you! I loved reading so much sci-fi as I hardly reach for it as often as I should 🥰
      You’re welcome 💕

      Liked by 1 person

  3. 11 Books this month is really good Caro!! It is so hard balancing blogging with life… Now that I’m going to the hospital every day with my loved one its become super hard. I can do one thing for the blog… but which?! GAHHH! So I’m on a learning curve too. I hope you love your thesis topic, it sounds like it would be hard to research?! And I hope you keep trucking on your WIP! ❤️ Oh and thanks for sharing my post!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 🙂 Oh no that sounds super tough 😦 It’s always hard to balance everything because there is soo much going on, not only writing posts but also blog-hopping and answering comments!

      I’ll have to talk to my professor about how to do the research, she has lots of experience with the topic, so I hope she’ll be able to offer some guidance 🙂 Thank you!! 🥰💕

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Good luck on your last year and your thesis! I love hearing about people’s research, so it’d be awesome to read about yours if you ever wanna share what you find out about employee health after work 😁. This time last year I was actually working on my thesis too, and it was ~ rough ~to say the least haha. Take it one step at a time (whenever you find out what those steps actually are 😂)!
    And thank you for mentioning my post, Caro ❤️!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! 🥰 I’ll definitely be sharing a glimpse into my work, but it might take a while as I’m still at the very beginning of the research 😄 Oh I hope things worked out for you eventually with your thesis! What did you write about?
      You’re welcome 💕

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Nice, I’ll look out for that! Oof, I feel you. The beginning of research was the toughest part for me just because I had no idea how to go about the whole process 😅. But, it worked out in the end! I did my thesis on the relationship between self-esteem and drug relapse during recovery, which provided some pretty obvious results (there definitely was a correlation haha), but it was mostly inspiring just to work with recovering drug dependents.
        You can do it, Caro 😁❤️!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Aww, thank you so much for sharing my post! I’m glad you liked it!

    I remeber when I arrived at my last year of University, thesis included. Good luck for everything! Maybe it will past very fast. I remember mine a blur (which is not very reassuring, I’m sorry)

    And good luck with your WIP too! Revisioning can be hard but sometimes it’s the most beneficial thing you can do.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome! 🙂

      Thank you! 🥰 What was your thesis about if you don’t mind sharing? I hope mine will go well, but I’ll be speaking to my professor a bit more about it soon 🙂
      Thank you!! It’s my first time doing revision, so it was intense at first, but I am making progress ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Looks like you have a had a very good reading month and I’m so glad you loved The Loneliest Girl in the Universe and it makes me very excited to pick it up one day!! I totally understand not being in the mood for fantasy as I am going through that right now but it will always be there when we want it!!
    I’m am loving all the positive energy for autumn and all these spooky— I much prefer the cooler weather too!! Good luck with all your readathons and your writing and research for your thesis (I don’t envy that)!!
    Thank you so, so much for mentioning my posts, I’m so glad you enjoyed them and it means a lot that you shared them!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Loneliest Girl in the Universe was a great surprise, I hope you end up liking it when you pick it up one day 🙂 Sometimes even I need a break from Fantasy and it’s good to branch out into different genres sometimes!

      Thank you! 🥰 I’m living for the cold weather and the autumn vibes it’s giving me, definitely one of my favorite times of the year 🙂

      You’re welcome 💕

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I just read The Loneliest Girl In The Universe. It was definitely a huge twist I wasn’t expecting, so I really enjoyed that! I hope your revisions are going super well and I hope you’re applying all your awesome changes like crazy. 💛 Have a super cozy October! The temperatures finally dropped here so I’m busting out all my plaid flannels and sweaters. I can’t wait to get my hands on a pumpkin spice chai latte!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was such a fantastic twist, I definitely didn’t see it coming even though I knew something was sketchy 😄 Thank you!! I’m making progress at least 💛 I hope you have a great cozy October as well! I’m ready for the cold and call things pumpkin-spiced 🎃

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Again, you amaze me with your reading skills! So many books, and you still had time to work on your thesis and WIP – WOW *_*
    Also, thank you so much for featuring my post here, Caro, you’re too lovely for words ❤ I can definitely relate to being too much of a perfectionist and what has helped me is to think that, if I start to overthink something and want it to be perfect, I'll never start/finish it! So I should just go for it in the end and not worry too much about the end result. Repetition makes it perfect more than keeping it in my head 😉
    Hope you have an amazing November! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.