Monthly Wrapups

What I’ve been up to in October 🎃 Spooky Scary Skeletons & Revision

October Wrapup

Hello fellow bookworms 🎃 Halloween is already over now!! 👻 I cannot believe it, because as usual time flew right by and before I knew it, it was the end of the month again. It’s strange to believe that we only have 2 months left of the year and then we’re in another decade – it seems like it’s time to start screaming 😱 October has been a mixed affair, there were a lot of amazing things like still being on semester break and enjoying all the spooky things, but with the start of University, I hurried to get a grip on my Bachelor Thesis and only got to talk to my professor much later than I wanted to. Nevertheless, I’m feeling strangely festive already and hope to make the most of all the cold days, as they fill my heart with joy 🥰

Me after Halloween is over

Let's Talk (2)

whatiread

🔄 = Reread 💌 = Library Books

🌼 = Moody Reader Challenge 🐯 = #YARC2019 ⌛ = Digital Arc

My aim this month was to read all the spooky books and I also participated in several Readathons to celebrate Halloween 👻 Overall I read 10 Books in October and immensely enjoyed being part of the Readathons, as I love the challenge and the prompts always motivate me to read all the spooky books! I’ll be marking what books counted to which Readathon with an emoji index, as a lot of them fit several Readathons, making it a bit hard to do a separate Readathon Wrapup 😄 I hoped to get to some more Halloween appropriate books, but I didn’t read as much towards the end of the month when university started again and I was on edge because things weren’t going like they should. I felt strangely restless and unable to just sit down with a book. However, things are clearer now, so I’m excited to get to all of my November reads! I’m also happy to report that I finally found another 5 star read again (that isn’t a reread) because I haven’t been finding as many new favorites like last year, but I did enjoy a lot of the books I read in October! 💖

Spooky Reads 🎃

👻 = Supernaturalathon 🎃 = Hocus Pocus Readathon 🍂 = Harvest Festival/Series SCAREdown

1. The Tyrant’s Tomb (Rick Riordan) ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐ 👻 🎃

2. A Monster Calls (Patrick Ness) ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐ 🔄 👻

3. The Call (Peadar O’Guilin) ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐ 🔄 👻 🍂

4. The Wicked Deep (Shea Earnshaw) ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ .5 👻 🎃

5. Wayward Son (Rainbow Rowell) ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ .5 👻 🎃

6. Pumpkinheads (Rowell, Hicks) ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 🎃

7. The Devouring Gray (Christine Lynn Hermann) ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 👻

8. The Invasion (Peadar O’Guilin) ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 👻 🍂

9. Warm Bodies (Isaac Marion) ⭐️⭐️.5 👻 🎃

10. The Beautiful (Renee Ahdieh) ⭐️⭐️ .5 ⌛ 🎃 🌼 🐯

Average Rating ⭐ 4.1

Favorite Book 💕

Let's Talk (2)

whatiposted

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

🎃 What I’ve been up to in September 🍂 Revision & Research 🎃 Arc Review: The Beautiful by Renée Ahdieh 🦇 Where are the Vampires? 

🎃 2 Year Blogversary 🎉 feat. Books I Loved because of you 💕 🎃 Getting back to Writing #3 // Joining #FinishUrBookFall & Writing Goals 

🎃 Arc Review: Mooncakes by Suzanne Walker & Wendy Xu 💕 Witches and Found Family 🎃 The Fall Bucket List Book Tag 🎃🍂 

🎃 Fall Favourites Tag 🍂🧡 🎃 Spooky Scary Writing Tag 👻 BOO! 

🎃 Spooky Content for Scaredy Cats 👻🐱 🎃 WITCHES!!! ✨ Theme Thursday

faveposts

For this section of my wrapup I’m linking up with the Favorite Blog Posts of the Month Meme that has been created by Kristin @ kristinkravesbooks to showcase our favorite blogs of the month!

Let's Talk (2)

life stuff

More Revision for my WIP! I used the last of my semester break to start the next phase of my revision: the actual work of editing/rewriting the scenes as I had prepared so much for this moment throughout all my time off. It was definitely hard at first because I struggled a lot with self-doubt, feeling like I wasn’t a good writer and that no one cared about my stories. Luckily, I managed to get into the flow and work past my own blocks, so I could try my best to finish as much of revision before the year ends as possible. I might not be able to get everything done, as my first draft was messy and takes me so long to revise but I will be talking about all of that and some future plans in my next writing update near the end of November 😊 Writing has been a positive thing for me recently, as I got past my own fears and started loving getting immersed in my world again. I won’t be doing NaNoWriMo but I will be working as much as I can at making my story the best it can be!

My last semester of university started again 😱 Time for screaming because I cannot believe I’m at the point to be getting my Bachelor’s Degree! It kind of freaks me out because it felt like I just started the journey and now I’m supposed to be finishing up this part of my life. I’ve been researching for a topic the past month but it has been very stressful when university started again because I couldn’t reach my professor at first and I needed her okay to proceed further and work on developing my topic and research. The last two weeks of October were not very good mental health-wise because everything was so uncertain about my thesis and there was a family conflict that I got drawn into, so I was anxious! Gladly, I finally was able to talk to my prof and we made some more plans, enabling me to do more work and prepare 👍 I still have no idea how everything will go time-wise, so I’m not sure when I’ll be doing the most work yet.

Let's Talk (2)

looking ahead

This month’s theme: Reading Challenge Catchup ⌛

As we’re nearing the end of the year (*insert screaming*) I’m planning to catch up on a few books that I have been meaning to read this year … but haven’t quite gotten to yet. I did great with a lot of my reading challenges, but others I’m a bit behind on so November is a Catchup Month for me, in general, to make the most of what we have left of 2019 🥰 I’ll be doing a post on Friday all about what books I’m planning on reading and how I’m doing with my reading challenges towards the end of the year, so stay tuned for that – I had a lot of fun writing it 😊 I’m definitely excited to be reading whatever I want most to read before the year is over and also Tome Topple is coming back so I’ll be reading one tome that I have been putting off even though I like the Series a lot 😱 I’ll likely post my Tome Topple TBR on Twitter, as I only plan on reading one book (everything else would sadly be unrealistic, no way can I squeeze in The Broken Eye 😅) but still want to make reading updates, as I love the Readathon so much 💕

Apart from reading, I will be plenty busy with life as I’m trying to revise as much as I can in honor of NaNoWriMo. I won’t be officially participating as it would have been too much (especially as I’m still not certain how things will move along with Uni stuff), but I’m still participating in #FinishUrBookFall! I’m also preparing to research for my Bachelor Thesis and develop my research concept like I said, so I need to be careful not to prioritize other things too much. And above all, I also want to blog and enjoy the last fall days before getting into the festive mood again 🍂🎄

Trying to prepare myself for revision, uni stuff, and reading ahead

The Top 3 Books I definitely want to read this month 💕 (ACOWAR is my Tome Topple pick, the rest are library books I have checked out to read soon 🥰)

Let's Talk (1)

What were you up to in October? What was your favorite book this month? How did you spent your Halloween? 🎃

26 thoughts on “What I’ve been up to in October 🎃 Spooky Scary Skeletons & Revision

  1. The average rating for your readathon books was fantastic! From what I could see, there were really only two disappointing novels included :O That’s awesome! I feel like sometimes after a bad book, it’s really hard to get back into reading.
    As always, thank you so much for including one of my posts! Much appreciated 😀 ❤
    I am sorry to hear that it hasn't been easy mental-health wise, but I am glad you could talk to your thesis advisor and make a plan. Do you know if you will be taking up studies for a master's degree yet?
    I am glad writing brings you joy and there is no need to participate in NaNo each year! Just do the editing and rewriting on your own terms. God knows, that's difficult enough as it is.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I definitely have been having a good reading year with lots of amazing books – that always manages to balance out the disappointing ones 😄

      You’re welcome! 🥰
      By now I have gladly gotten ahead a lot and I’m currently working on my questionnaire for my study 🙂 I want to do a Master’s degree eventually!

      I’ve gotten a bit slower with revising recently, but I still like the story a lot, so that’s always good 💕

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It seems like you had an amazing reading month in October! I wanted to read The Wicked Deep but sadly, I didn’t get to it.

    It’s my final year of university too and I can’t help but feeling the same. Why does time fly so fast?? I was expecting it to feel really long but tbh it feels like I’m flying by, I can’t believe it’s almost time for us to graduate!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you end up liking the Wicked Deep, it was such an atmospheric book! 🙂

      It’s so strange to be in the final year and look back on how much time has passed, like how?? 😱 It really feels like I just started 😄

      Like

  3. I read 6 books in October and I’m really surprised and happy about it! October was a studious month… I worked a lot and I didn’t have much time to read. Unfortunately, it’ll be harder in the next months and I won’t read as much as during october. My favourite book was Heartstopper by Alice Oseman!
    Well done for your october, you did an amazing job! Thank you for recommending my blog post ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It sounds like you did great with reading, especially with everything going on! 🙂 I feel like October is always tough when it comes to work. I hope you’ll be able to relax as well, even with more work coming up 🥰
      Oh, I love Heartstopper as well, it’s such a great comfort read! Thank you & happy to feature your post! 💕

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Woah, you had such a productive month!
    I really wish that Halloween was celebrated more or lasted longer, it is such a fun event!
    Your WIP looks like it is going really well, and I wish you all the best for it!
    I haven’t read Warm Bodies, but I have seen the movie (yes, horrific, I know).
    – Emma 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow, you read so many books this past month and participated in so many readathons, I’m impressed! 😄 So glad you enjoyed Wayward Son and also found some other great books. Hope the revisions are continuing to go well – looking forward to your next update! And thanks so much for sharing my posts 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m sad you didn’t enjoy Warm Bodies! But it sounds like you read many, many good ones otherwise. I love how you always re-read a couple books, I’m so impressed by that. I hope your revisions go well and you get well underway with your thesis Caro. You have a lot going on for sure!! ❤️❤️❤️ As always thanks for sharing my post. You’re the best!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad that I enjoyed a lot of books, they definitely made up for the ones that ended up disappointing me 😄 Thank you! 💖 I hope that everything will turn out to be okay even with everything going on 🙂
      Always happy to share your posts! 🥰

      Like

  7. Hey Caro!
    You definitely seem to have a lot on your plate with reading, editing a novel, and writing your thesis! Kudos to you for fitting it all in 🙂
    I definitely experience self-doubt as well- I think it’s part of being a writer. However keep it up with your revisions and don’t give up. You are the only one who can tell this story!
    I am sad to hear that you’ve had a rough few weeks at the end of October. Hope things will settle down and make a turn for the better. Have a great rest of November 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It has definitely been challenging, but I’m trying my best to balance things out 😄
      Thank you for the encouragement 💕 It’s hard but I try to remind myself that I’m passionate about this story and really want to tell it 🙂
      Thank you! I hope you had a great November as well 🥰

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so happy with my reading in October, it was truly great to check out so many spooky books 🥰 I love Readathons so I always manage to squeeze them in 😄 Thank you so much for the encouraging words!! 💕 I hope you’ve had a good November 🙂

      Like

  8. You saying with only have 2 months left until we start another decade is honestly scary, haha!!
    I’m feeling quite festive as well now, in the shop the other day there was even festive music so the holidays have begun!!
    10 books is really good! I want to read A Monster Calls as I’ve heard a lot about it and want to experience it myself!! I’m sorry Warm Bodies wasn’t the best read for you, I’ve seen the movie which I quite like though.
    I’m glad writing is looking up for you and you are getting rid of that self doubt. It is wonderful when you can get immersed in your story and you can do this!!
    I’m sorry the last two weeks on October were stressful and horrible but I hoe November has been treating your better so far and you have a great rest of the year. ❤

    Also thank you so much for linking to my post, it means a lot!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Time flies by so fast and now another year has already passed 😮
      The festiveness is creeping in for me as well, because my city has put up the decorations already so everything is looking great 🎄

      I hope you end up reading A Monster Calls, the illustrated edition is truly an amazing experience, so I highly recommend it 🥰 It definitely was the best feeling to truly get into the story and reach some kind of writing flow 💕 Thank you! 💖

      Always happy to feature your posts 🥰

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know, it is insane!!
        Yes I saw the decorations in my town too and they do look lovely!!

        Yes I actually read the ebook this month so unfortunately I didn’t get the illustrations but one day I will get the book and see them. But I did think it was a wonderful story and so emotional!!
        It is!!!

        Aw.. thank you so much!! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  9. First of all, sorry I’m commenting on this so late, but thanks so much for featuring my post! Also, I wish you all the luck with your thesis—you are gonna kill it! The same goes with your wip—I hope you find a path to publication soon. And I feel you on the five star reads thing! I haven’t found a lot lately, but I just read a book that I now consider to be a favorite of all time, and I’m super grateful. I hope your November is restful ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome 🥰 Thank you so much!! 💕 I hope things will go as smoothly as they can! 🙂 I mostly had close 5 star reads, but never one that truly become a new favorite. But I’m happy that you’ve found a new favorite book! 🙂 Thank you, I hope you had a nice November! 💖

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.