Monthly Wrapups

What I’ve been up to in July ⛱ Time for a break

July Wrapup

Hello fellow bookworms ⛱ It felt like yesterday when I was writing my last Wrapup, that’s probably because I posted it so late 😂 This time I’m here a bit earlier as July has turned around my daily life a lot mid-month. I’m now on semester break and have been on vacation to Zürich for a few weeks, so I’m doing my best to answer comments and don’t let the blog hopping pile up. I have been doing pretty good after having some more relaxing time to myself, even with the temperatures being so high (I will never be a big fan of summer, but I wish I could go back to Zürich and swim in the lake every day). I hope it won’t get too hot in August, so I can actually go outside and maybe read a bit, now that I’m home and have a terrace 😄 There are a lot of things I want to tackle the following months on semester break, so hopefully I’ll get to do a lot of personal projects! 💕

Let's Talk (2)

whatiread

Theme: Mood Reading

🔄 = Reread 💌 = Library Books

🌼 = Moody Reader Challenge 🐯 = #YARC2019

⌛ = Digital Arc 🎧 = Audiobook

I was taking a bit of a break from reading with a theme like I have done for the past several months, because they have been very busy, and I wanted to make myself more room to relax and not have a set TBR for July. That worked out pretty well, I basically picked up whatever I felt like, some books from the library while I was still in the city and some that I felt like rereading 🙂 I especially enjoyed rereading The Hunger Games books, that I suddenly felt this huge urge to reread because it has been several years since I last reached for them. I don’t know where the impulse came from, but I ended up having a fantastic time, as I fell in love with the books again and was reminded why I had liked them so much in the first place 💕 I’m so glad I bought the English versions in a used book shop, as they have been put to good use now. In total, I ended up reading 10 books and I’m happy with that number, as I wasn’t looking to closely on it to be honest 😄

1. Sorcery of Thorns (Margaret Rogerson) ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐

2. Reckless: Part 2 (Cornelia Funke) ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️.5 💌 

3. Here Lies Daniel Tate (Cristing Terrill) ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️.5  

   

4. Peter Darling (Austin Chant) ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 🎧

5. The Lion, the Witch & the Wardrobe (C.S. Lewis) ⭐️⭐️⭐️.5 💌

6. Down and Across (Arvin Ahmadi) ⭐️⭐️⭐️ 💌 🐯

6. The Magician’s Nephew (C.S. Lewis) ⭐️⭐️.5 💌

Rereads 

7. The Hunger Games (Suzanne Collins) ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐🔄 💌

8. Catching Fire (Suzanne Collins) ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐🔄 💌

9. Mockingjay (Suzanne Collins) ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐🔄 💌

Average Rating ⭐ x.x

Favorite Book 💕

Let's Talk (2)

whatiposted

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

⛱ Arc Review: Sorcery of Thorns by Margaret Rogerson ⛱ What I’ve been up to in June ☀ I’m melting and also I’m stressed 

⛱ Sharing the Blogger Love 💗 Book Blogger Awards  ⛱ Most Anticipated Releases for the rest of the year 💖 

⛱ NEWT TBR ✨ Becoming a Magizoologist Part 2  ⛱ Series Crackdown 8.0 TBR 📚

faveposts

For this section of my wrapup I’m linking up with the Favorite Blog Posts of the Month Meme that has been created by Kristin @ kristinkravesbooks to showcase our favorite blogs of the month!

Let's Talk (2)

life stuff

I’m now on Semester Break! I don’t have much to report, because my last wrapup was so late and almost halfway through the month. Therefore, I already told you all about my intership finishing and university classes finishing up as well. As of right now I have a break until the end of October, BUT I have yet to hand in all my papers (they required a last readthrough before I print and send them in) and write an internship report for the one I just finished. Then I talked to the prof that I’ll likely do my bachelor thesis with and she told me I should get started on doing some research in August to figure out my central question. She was really nice, but the idea of going back to researching literature again (after all the papers) and having no idea what to do for the thesis makes me anxious 😢 I wanted a longer break before diving back into the bachelor thesis because of my mental health so idk what to do yet, as I don’t want to leave the prof hanging for months.

I went to Zürich for Vacation ❤ Spoiler alert: it was lovely, I’m glad that I finally made a trip to Switzerland! 😍 I very much needed a vacation after three months of intense internship and lots of papers to write. It was a great opportunity for me to detach myself from all the business and recharge in a different location with no commitments. I was very relaxed during those few days and took an unintentional social media detox. That’s because the hotel wi-fi was not working for me and I only had a bit of mobile data left, so I spent the majority of my time exploring the city, doing lots of fun activities and not being as influenced by Twitter, which was nice for a change. I felt a lot more at peace and could absorb a lot of new impressions. We also went hiking (a themed astronomy route, that’s why you can see me in the upper row of the collage with the sun ☀), something I almost never do, sat by the lake and saw the Rheinfall, Europe’s biggest waterfall (fun fact about me: I LOVE waterfalls, they are so fascinating and calming 💗)! It was wonderful to be more out in nature; I WANT TO GO BACK 😭

iPiccy-collage
A little collage ❤ (feat. cute ginger mountain cat)

Let's Talk (2)

looking ahead

This month’s theme: NEWT Readathon ✨

July was the month of Mood Reading, but in August the NEWT’s are happening again, so my TBR is a lot more set again! I have already shared my NEWT TBR on the blog and had so much fun coming up with books to read, even though some could change, depending on what I’m feeling like reading at the moment. Nevertheless, my Slytherin ambition has resurfaced and I want to read as many books that count towards the Readathon (hopefully all August reads will count towards it) as I can, not just my required subjects. Will I be able to do it? Debatable, especially with trying to focus on writing, but I’m also participating in two 24 Hour Readathons (the Dewey’s and the Magical All Nighter), so we’ll see what happens 😄 I’m glad to have more time to read again, without many commitments weighing me down! I cannot wait to read some of the books I have been wanting to read for a while now. Sadly, I’m away from my library, but I will go back several times because I’ll be in the city to hand in papers and there are always the eBooks to access 📚

Here is my NEWT TBR in case you haven’t seen it yet 💕

NEWT TBR

Let's Talk (1)

What were you up to in July? What was your favorite book this month? What are your fave summer reads? ☀

34 thoughts on “What I’ve been up to in July ⛱ Time for a break

  1. Wow! Nine books in a short amount of time! That’s great! And my thinks I read too much. 😃 Reading is my ultimate inspiration! Keep reading. If anyone asks why you read so much, then tell them “It’s easier than tin-foil hats and brainwaves.” (Unless someone has built a better tin-foil hat)

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Wow, your trip to Zurich sounds so lovely and relaxing! 😍 Makes me want to go there too!! I’m glad you have some time off after the intensity of your internship – hope you get to read lots of amazing books 😄

    Speaking of which, I’m so glad to hear you loved Sorcery of Thorns! I’ve been wanting to pick that up and now I’m even more excited too. And you reminded me that I’ve been meaning to reread The Hunger Games! That’s great that they still hold up for you even years later 😊 Thanks so much for linking to my posts, and good luck with your NEWTs!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was such a lovely vacation to relax from everything and I really want to go back 😭❤ I’m so happy to finally be able to read all the books again in peace 😍

      Sorcery of Thorns was soo good, I hope you end up liking it as well! I’m glad that I reread The Hunger Games, because it turns out that I still like them so much 🙂 You’re welcome, good luck with your NEWTs as well 💕

      Like

  3. Awwww Zürich is so gorgeous!!! It looks and sounds like you had a blast Caro!! It’s always really nice to go on vacation and not have to worry about any of the day to day things we typically worry about. ❤ I’m sure your thesis topic will come to you as you shift back into reading and have some time for your mind to float.

    And I’m so happy you loved Sorcery of Thorns!! I’m waiting for it from the library and can’t wait. It seems to be a favorite of everyone’s! I’m reading A Curse So Dark and Lonely right now that everyone raved about and am enjoying it. Happy reading this month Caro!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was such a lovely vacation and really relaxing as well, I would love to return one day 💕 I really hope that I’ll find some topic that interests me soon!

      I hope you’ll get to Sorcery of Thorns soon, it was such a fantastic read full of book appreciation 💖 I’ll be reading A Curse so Dark and Lonely soon too, let me know what you think of it 🙂 Happy reading to you too 📚

      Like

  4. It’s so incredibly cool that you read so many books when you weren’t paying attention to the #! Also I think it’s so cool that you were reading with a theme, because I am such a mood reader lmao. ALL OF THOSE PHOTOS OF ZURICH ARE SO LOVELY and pretty! Swimming every day must have been sooo nice :’)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was truly happy with my reading in July, it was so great to pick up so many different books 🥰 I love the theme-reading, but I need a bit of mood reading inbetween as well, my TBR’s nowadays are rarely fixed anymore (I used to have a set 10 book tbr years ago omg 😂). THANK YOU, I looooved the city and would love to live near the lake 😭🥰

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m so glad you had an amazing time in Zurich! These pictures are wonderful, and it looks like a fantastic place to relax and recharge (and the cat is adorable) ♥ I’ve wanted to reread The Hunger Games for a while, and I wonder when I’ll finally get to them! It looks like you enjoyed rereading them 🙂 Thank you so much for sharing my post lovely, that’s so sweet of you ♥ And I hope you enjoy the NEWTs readathon this month!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I loved it so much in Zürich, it was so lovely to get to relax (and that cat was so cute) 🥰 I really enjoyed my reread of The Hunger Games, it was so great to return to the world and getting major nostalgia vibes 🙂 Always happy to share! And thank you, I’m loving the NEWT’s so far, good luck to you too 🥰

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I will read Sorcery of Thorns this month. I will try to speak it into existence lol. I have heard Such Good Things and I, too, want to feel Such Good Things about a fantasy with a library and badass MC and hate-to-love romance (lol if i remember all of those tropes correctly). Because that sounds HEAVENLY and i am so so ready to totally get myself invested in a book again. Thanks so so much for linking so many blog posts around the community; i always love to check them out! + I’m keeping my fingers crossed that you make good progress with finding your central question for your bachelor thesis — you’ve got this!! i totally feel you with that pressure ’cause i, too, will soon have to think about that. ❤ c:

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really hope you get to read Sorcery of Thorns soon, it’s a fantastic book 💕 There is definitely a badass MC and a hate to love relationship 😄

      Thank you!! I hope to at least find a topic soon that I’m passionate about – and I hope you will to! 😊❤

      Like

  7. Hey Caro!!
    That’s awesome that you’ve read so many books this month. It’s always nice to reread some old favourites 🙂
    Your vacation photos from Zurich look lovely. Sounds like you definitely deserved the time off after a busy semester! I visited once before though I didn’t spend as much time there as I would’ve liked 🙂
    Thank you so much for the shout-out!! Wishing you a wonderful August ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had such a great time to reread old favorites, it always gives me so much nostalgia 🥰 Zürich was such a lovely city and I had a great time relaxing! I hope you get to revisit it again sometime and are able to spend more time 🙂
      You’re welcome, I hope you’re having a great August as well! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  8. You read so much! It’s so impressive! Mood reading is such an awesome theme to have this month. I looove the cover of Sorcery of Thorns, and since you really liked it I think I’ll definitely pick it up now. Also, your vacation looked so aesthetic! 💛 It sounded like you had a fantastic July, and I hope you have a great August, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! 💛 I definitely need some mood reading inbetween my theme reading 🙂 Margaret Rogerson truly gets the best covers and I hope that you end up liking Sorcery of Thorns! Thank you, my vacation was so lovely and the two truly pretty 🥰 I hope you have a great August as well!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Ahh Caro you’ve read so much this past month, this is amazing! I’m so happy you enjoyed Sorcery of Thorns, I’ve heard so many great things about this book 🙂
    I’m happy you had such a great time in Zurich as well! I visited the city a couple years ago and loved it there so much 😀
    Thank you so, so much for sharing my post and I hope you’re having a beautiful August ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Reading has been going so well so far and Sorcery of Thorns was truly amazing, a fantastic fantasy novel 🥰
      Zürich is so lovely, I’m glad that you got to visit it as well!! 🙂 I hope you’re having a fantastic August as well ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Ahh I’m sorry this is so late!

    I’m glad you had so much fun on your vacation! It looks like it was amazing! 🙂 And I’m glad you loved Sorcery of Thorns so much! I just bought it recently, and I’m going to try to read it soon!

    Good luck with the rest of your NEWTs, and I hope you have a lovely August! (and thanks for sharing my post!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No worries 🥰
      The vacation was so lovely, it was a much needed break from everything 💕 I hope you end up enjoying Sorcery of Thorns, it was such a good read for me!

      Thank you so much! I hope you had a great August as well! 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.