Monthly Wrapups

What I’ve been up to in April ๐ŸŒป Magical Readathon, Birthday & Internship

April Wrapup

Hello fellow bookworms ๐ŸŒป Another month has passed me by more quickly than I had anticipated. April was pretty busy with my Birthday and starting my Internship in the middle of the month. I’m pretty tired and still adjusting to a very different routine compared to the last semesters ๐Ÿ˜ด

Important Resources

Divider2

whatiread

๐Ÿ” = Reread ๐Ÿ’Œ = Library Books โŒ› = Digital Arc

๐Ÿ“š = #TackleYourTBR ๐Ÿ“– = #DevourYourTBR ๐Ÿ˜Š = Buddy Read ๐Ÿ’• = 12 Book Recs by Friends

I read 15 books in April, all for the Magical Readathon!! April is always my favorite reading month because the Readathon is so unique and fun ๐Ÿ’• It really motivated me to read as much as possible. I did stress myself a tiny bit because I tried to cram so many books into the first half of the month before my internship started ๐Ÿ˜‚ I didn’t know how much I would be able to read then and right now I’m once again heavily relying on always having an audiobook ready to go ๐ŸŽงย I struggle a bit with unwinding after work and picking up a book, but I’m working on it! Overall my reading was great, even though I did have some unpopular opinions … I was very excited to read The Song of Achilles, but it turned out to be a least favorite of the year already ๐Ÿ™ˆ Luckily, I did read some other books that I loved though!

OC Update (1)

I read 8 books out of my comfort zone this month! I read lots of historical fiction (all the books listed under Part 1 + Orphan Monster Spy and The Song of Achilles) this month for another reading challenge and I’m glad to have read so many books! I find historical fiction very interesting but I rarely reach for it, so I wanted to change that ๐Ÿ˜Š I also read 1 poetry book (Golden Girl) and 2 Adult books (Daisy Jones & Silver in the Wood)!

April 1

  • Daisy Jones & the Six (Taylor Jenkins Reid) โญโญโญโญ.5 ๐Ÿ“–๐ŸŽง
  • I Must Betray You (Ruta Sepetys) โญโญโญโญ๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ“–
  • A Marvellous Light (Freya Marske) โญโญโญโญ๐Ÿ’Œ๐Ÿ“–๐ŸŽง
  • The Enigma Game (Elizabeth Wein) โญโญโญโญ๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ“–
April 2
  • Golden Girl (Reem Faruqi) โญโญโญโญ๐Ÿ’Œ
  • Orphan Monster Spy (Matt Killeen) โญโญโญ๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ“–
  • Silver in the Wood (Emily Tesh) โญโญโญ๐Ÿ’Œ
  • The Song of Achilles (Madeline Miller) โญโญ๐Ÿ’Œ๐Ÿ“–๐ŸŽง

Banner (3)

Wrapup 1

1. Spy x Family Vol 8. (Tatsuya Endo) โญโญโญโญ.5 ๐Ÿ“š

2.ย A Marvellous Light (Freya Marske) โญโญโญโญ๐Ÿ’Œ๐Ÿ“–๐ŸŽง

3. The Enigma Game (Elizabeth Wein) โญโญโญโญ๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ“–

4.ย I Must Betray You (Ruta Sepetys) โญโญโญโญ๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ“–

5. Strange the Dreamer (Laini Taylor) โญโญโญ.5 ๐Ÿ“š๐ŸŽง๐Ÿ’• {Recommended by Sabrina}

6. Silver in the Wood (Talia Hibbert) โญโญโญ๐Ÿ’Œ๐ŸŽง

Wrapup 2

7. The Map (William Ritter) โญโญโญโญโญ๐Ÿ”

8. Spy x Family Vol 7. (Tatsuya Endo) โญโญโญโญ.5 ๐Ÿ“š

9. Daisy Jones & the Six (Taylor Jenkins Reid) โญโญโญโญ.5 ๐Ÿ’Œ๐Ÿ“–๐ŸŽง

10. Sick Kids in Love (Hannah Moskowitz) โญโญโญโญ๐Ÿ’Œ๐ŸŽง

11. Once Upon an Eid (edited by Ali & Saeed) โญโญโญโญ๐Ÿ’Œ๐ŸŽง

12. Orphan Monster Spy (Matt Killeen) โญโญโญ๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ“–

13. The Song of Achilles (Madeline Miller) โญโญ๐Ÿ’Œ๐Ÿ“–๐ŸŽง

Wrapup 3

14. Golden Girl (Reem Faruqi) โญโญโญโญ๐Ÿ’Œ

15. To Be a Cat (Matt Haig) โญโญโญ๐Ÿ’Œ

Divider2

Favorite Books ๐Ÿ’•

Pondathon Garden & Achievement Update ๐ŸŒท

Round 4 Pondathon Garden

Pondathon Garden Round 4

Round 5 Pondathon Garden

Pondathon Garden

Achievements & Badges

  • Side Quest (Building Homes with Varian) โžฝ Read a book by a Muslim author or an Autistic author (Bee-ing Caring badge)

Pondathon Character

For more Infos about the Pondathon visit thequietpond ๐ŸŒท

Divider2

whatiposted

What Iโ€™ve been up to in March ๐ŸŒท Semester Break with Complications ~ย Arc Review: The Many Half-Lived Lives of Sam Sylvester by Maya MacGregor๐Ÿ“•ย 

#OOCZ Recs: Historical Fiction ๐Ÿ“š Back to the Past! ๐Ÿ’— ~ย Books with autistic characters ๐Ÿ“š #autismacceptancemonth2022

Series Review: Nevermoor, Wundersmith & Hollowpox ๐Ÿ’• The Best MG Fantasy Series ~ย How many of my Anticipated 2021 Releases did I actually read? ๐Ÿ“š ~ย Series Review: The Sad Ghost Club ๐Ÿ‘ป Mental Health & Feeling Seen

faveposts

For this section of my wrapup Iโ€™m linking up with the Favorite Blog Posts of the Month Meme that has been created by Kristin @ kristinkravesbooks to showcase our favorite blogs of the month! ๐Ÿ’—

Divider2

life stuff

April was pretty busy for me! The week before my internship started was full of events and then my birthday happened on the weekend ๐Ÿฅณ I was super nervous about my internship but so far (2 weeks in) I’m pretty happy with it. The team is really nice and includes me as a full member: I’m doing lots of projects independently and they aren’t very strict with working hours. The atmosphere in the office is very friendly and luckily I can work from home 3 days a week!ย With the mask mandate being removed in most areas and even less protections in place (๐Ÿค), I’m glad that I only have to go into the office on 2 days. I also like what I’m doing at my internship, so it seems like I have found a great place ๐Ÿ˜Š I’m still recovering from having the virus which I got 4 weeks ago. CW ~ Medical Stuff [I started having some issues with my heartbeat being very noticeable even when I was resting (my friend who’s also recovering had the same thing, so it seems to be common post-COVID), I went to the doctor and he referred me to a cardiologist. I got a 24-hour EKG and blood tests. I don’t have all the results yet but my blood is looking normal and it doesn’t seem to be too serious. Still pretty unsettling. Idk if my problems are coming from post-COVID, my thyroid condition, or the medication I take for it. Just wanted to talk a bit about what the recovery and post-issues can look like.]

๐Ÿ’ซ What I Watched in April ๐Ÿ’ซ

Bridgerton (TV Series 2020- ) - Posters โ€” The Movie ...

  • Bridgerton (S1) ~ I finally caved and watched Bridgerton, especially as there was a ton of hype around the second season ๐Ÿ‘€ This was the dramatic, fun, and fast show I needed at the time ๐Ÿ˜„ I wasn’t a fan of the main couple at all (they annoyed me towards the end), but there were so many interesting other characters I cannot wait to see more of!
  • Blood & Water (S2) ~ I also finished this show at the beginning of the month! It got even more intense than season 2 and I’m hoping that there might be another season as a lot is still left unsaid ๐Ÿ˜ฑ

Divider2

looking ahead

It’s already May! ๐ŸŒทย This year is really flying by faster than I anticipated ๐Ÿ˜ฑ I’ll be busy with my internship which lasts until the beginning of July and don’t have anything else special planned. Nevertheless I’m very excited for my May reading plans, as I intend to focus on books about Mental Health this month! I loved reading them, as the topic is dear to my heart but have noticed that I haven’t checked out any new books in a while. That’s why I’m excited about all the books I have mentioned down below!

๐Ÿ“š #DevourYourTBR ๐Ÿ“š

This monthโ€™s challenge is to read the books about Mental Health.

ยฉย DevourYourTBR

  • Blade of Secrets (Tricia Levenseller) โŒ›
  • Gallant (Victoria Schwab) ๐Ÿ“š
  • You’d Be Home Now (Kathleen Glasgow) ๐Ÿ“š

  • A Quiet Kind of Thunder (Sara Barnard) ๐Ÿ“š
  • A Brush with Love (Mazey Eddings) ๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ’—
  • Anxious People (Fredrik Backman) ๐Ÿ’•๐ŸŽง๐Ÿ’— 12 in 12: Recommended by Veronika

Divider2 (2)

What were you up to in March? What was your favorite book? What’s your favorite historical fiction book? ๐ŸŒท

38 thoughts on “What I’ve been up to in April ๐ŸŒป Magical Readathon, Birthday & Internship

  1. I’m glad you had a nice birthday (happy, happy belated birthday) and that your internship is good so far! I hope it stays that way ๐Ÿ™‚
    Also, you read SO much!! I thought I was going above and beyond with 8 books this past month ahaha but I’m also so pleased you caved and started watching Bridgerton. I really like the show.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Kat! ๐Ÿ’• My internship has been really great so far! I have been using so many audiobooks to do my reading, they definitely come in handy ๐Ÿ˜„ The second season of Bridgerton was especially great, I cannot wait for the next one!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m happy that your internship is going well, and I hope you feel fully recovered soon. Sending lots of hugs ๐Ÿ’• Thanks for including my review on this post, Caro, I really appreciate it! I’m glad you had such a full reading month but I must admit that seeing you didn’t enjoy The Song of Achilles that much was heartbreaking ๐Ÿ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I hope you had a nice birthday โค๏ธ๐Ÿฅณ, you deserve it and I am so happy you have been enjoying your internship in lots of different aspect. I wish you the best of luck with it!
    Congrats on reading so many books too! Such a shame about the song of achilles knowing how hyped it is, but it can’t work for everyone. Daisy Jones & the Six is a very well put together book. I am sooo excited for the show!!
    I much preferred s2 of bridgerton over s1 so I hope you have a good time with it!
    Thank you sooooo much got shouting out our posts โค๏ธ๐Ÿฅฐ it always means a lot and I am so grateful!! โค๏ธ Wishing you a great May and I hope you feel fully recovered ASAP! ๐Ÿ’ž

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I did! ๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿฅฐ I’m so sad about The Song of Achilles, but at least I ended up loving Daisy Jones and the Six! I’m super hyped for the show now as well ๐Ÿ˜Š I also liked S2 of Bridgerton so much more, probably because I was actually rooting for the main couple ๐Ÿ˜„
      You’re welcome, I always love reading your posts! Thank you, I hope you’re well ๐Ÿ’•

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I can’t believe April has gone by already! This year is moving so fast ๐Ÿ™ˆ Congrats on all the books you read this month, and starting your internship! I’m glad it’s going well for you ๐Ÿฅฐ Oh, and happy birthday! ๐ŸŽ‰

    Historical fiction would definitely be out of my reading comfort zone – I don’t think I’ve read any? The Song of Achilles has been one of the most anticipated books on my TBR for so long now though, so hopefully it works better for me than it did for you!

    I got more reading done than I was expecting to this month. I caught covid in the middle of April and while I was very lucky and only had mild symptoms I had to take some time off work, so I spent most of it glued to my kindle. (I hope you feel better soon! โค๏ธ) My favourite book of the month was Taming Demons for Beginners by Annette Marie – I read it in a single day which I haven’t done in so long! I was also very happy because the 5th volume of my favourite manga came out (A Gentle Noble’s Vacation Recommendation) and that was really fun.

    Mental Health May sounds like a brilliant idea, I hope you have loads of fun with it! ๐Ÿ’–

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! ๐Ÿ’•
      I like the idea of historical fiction as a genre, but I tend to not read it often ๐Ÿ™ˆ I hope you end up liking The Song of Achilles more than I! I sadly have a feeling Madeline Miller isn’t really for me ๐Ÿ˜…
      Oh no, I hope you’re feeling better and more recovered right now! ๐Ÿ’• I don’t think I have ever heard of Taming Demons for Beginners so I’ll have to check it out! A Gentle Nobleโ€™s Vacation Recommendation sounds like much fun, I hope I can get around to reading it someday ๐Ÿ˜Š
      Thank you, I had such a good time!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve been too scared to pick up The Song of Achilles, because (1) the hype that surrounds it is massive, (2) I don’t like / read books with sad endings, and I now feel like I made the right call there. I’m sorry it disappointed you, though, especially as it was an awaited read. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Your pond gardens look so cute! ๐Ÿ’– Congrats on keeping up with the challenge so well and reading so many books in April. ๐Ÿฅฐ I’ve said this before, but I’m happy the internship is going well. I’m also happy your blood tests came back normal, I hope the heart issues will get better soon. ๐Ÿ’–

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m still sad about The Song of Achilles, the hype was huge and I actually wasn’t that sad, because I barely cared for the characters ๐Ÿ™ˆ Thank you! I had such fun with the Pondathon ๐Ÿ’• My internship is going really well, which is so nice ๐Ÿฅฐ

      Like

  6. Happy belated birthday! ๐Ÿฅณ I’m glad your internship seems to be going along nicely, starting a new job like that is always so scary! My April was messy and busy but I finally started antidepressants and am hoping for them to start working over the next couple of weeks. Thank you so much for featuring my posts, I hope you have a wonderful May ๐Ÿ’œ

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Iโ€™m glad you had a great birthday! You managed to read a lot, and Iโ€™m so happy that you read many historical fictions! Daisy Jones is a really great book! Iโ€™m sorry to hear that The Song of Achilles disappointed you, thatโ€™s why I am not the biggest fan of the concept of โ€œhypeโ€. It sometimes leads readers to have such high expectations, that theyโ€™re bound to be disappointed. Not every book can work for every reader, and thatโ€™s totally fine. Will you give the author another try, or you didnโ€™t click with her writing style?
    The health condition you have sounds scary, I hope youโ€™ll feel better soon. ๐Ÿฅฐ
    I also watched Bridgerton this month! ๐Ÿ˜„ It was so good, the perfect match for my mood.
    Iโ€™m glad you enjoy your internship!! And it is awesome that the working environment is lovely.
    Thank you for sharing my posts! I really appreciate it every time. ๐Ÿฅบ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! ๐Ÿ’• Daisy Jones was fantastic, especially as I listened to the audiobook, which had a full cast! I feel like I’m just not into Madeline Miller’s books, sadly ๐Ÿ™ˆ The Song of Achilles was the one I most wanted to read and it didn’t turn out great ๐Ÿ˜…
      Thank you!! Bridgerton is a great show to take your mind off things, the drama is so much fun ๐Ÿ˜„ Thanks! My internship is going well and I hope you’re doing well too! ๐Ÿ’•

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I finally picked up Spy x Family and adored the first volume so much! So glad you enjoyed Daisy Jones. I’ve been toying with the idea of picking up the audiobook, which I have heard nothing but good things about. Glad your internship is going well. Hope you have a lovely May!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So glad to hear that you liked Spy x Family, it’s a fantastic manga ๐Ÿ’• The audiobook for Daisy Jones is incredible as it has a full cast, so I highly recommend it ๐Ÿฅฐ Thank you, I hope you’re doing well! ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Like

  9. Happy belated birthday ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m super impressed that you read 15 books this month even with so much going on! I Must Betray You and This Marvelous Light both look really good; hopefully I’ll like them as much as you did. Happy May!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Happy belated birthday! I’m in awe of this enormous post! What a fantastic wrap up! I’m so happy you liked A Marvellous Light — that’s up there for one of my favorite books I’ve read so far this year. I hope your May goes swimmingly, and that you read some more fantastic books.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! ๐Ÿ’– A Marvellous Light was truly so good and exactly what I love when it comes to tropes! I’m so excited for the companion book as well ๐Ÿฅฐ Thank you, I hope you’re also having a good May! ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Happy belated birthday, Caro! I’m so happy your internship is going well so far and that you’re able to work from home as well, definitely a plus! And you read so much despite everthing, I am impressed. SO happy you enjoyed Daisy Jones!
    I hope you’ll have a lovely month โค

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I’m so glad you had a wonderful birthday and that the internship is going well! It sounds like they value you as a member of the team and trust you, which are fantastic signs. It also looks like you had a good reading month and almost half were out of your comfort zone?! WHO ARE YOU, CARO!?

    Liked by 1 person

  13. i’m so happy to hear that you enjoyed your birthday!! happy belated birthday hehe โค and i'm glad that your internship has also been going well! the more i see you read & highly rate spy x family, the more tempted i am to start reading the series… we'll see how much longer i can resist temptation haha. hope you're having a lovely may so far!!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. caro, i am glad to hear you had great birthday and i hope your internship is going well! itโ€™s definitely a lot of going on in a month, so iโ€™m super impressed you also managed to read *15* books!!!!

    tbh, i was not impressed when i read a song of achilles either. i thought it was well written, but it didnโ€™t make me feel that much. i was also disappointed because it was written as a retelling and from patroclusโ€™ perspective, which would be the perfect scenario to tell us more about this character, but he ended up being a sidekick in his own story, which was so frustrating!

    but iโ€™m glad you had better luck with the other books. sick kids in love really is such a great contemporary! i am happy you enjoyed it!

    i recently started watching normal people, mostly because i was very curious due to all the internet buzz. and i think the next show i might give a shot because of the hype is bridgeton! i donโ€™t know if iโ€™m going to enjoy it tbh so iโ€™ll be going with veryyy low expectations, but i do love myself some drama, so maybe it will work for me after all!

    i hope youโ€™re having a great may so far and that youโ€™re feeling better overall!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Lais! ๐Ÿ’• My internship has been going well and audiobooks have definitely helped me read a lot after work ๐Ÿ˜„ I’m relieved that I’m not the only one who was disappointed by The Song of Achilles! I agree with what you said: the retelling lacked some substance and the characters were a bit weak, especially Patroclus!

      I haven’t watched Normal People, but Bridgerton was a great show to take my mind off things! I didn’t have any high expectations, so I was living for all the drama ๐Ÿ˜„ Thank you! I hope you’re doing well ๐Ÿ’•

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.