Readathons

Spooky October TBR 👻 feat. Spoopathon & Hocus Pocus Readathon

Spooky Readathons 06.10.

Hello fellow bookworms 🎃 It’s time for my favorite part of the year: Reading spooky books in October 👻 I’m a big seasonal reader in both autumn and winter, so my reading motivation is the highest in the colder months! I have so many books I want to read, so I thought I’d share some of the books on my TBR with you! I divided them into different age categories. I’m also joining two different Readathons that run all month: Spoopathon and Hocus Pocus Readathon 🍂

🎃 Overview 🎃

  1. (Spooky) October TBR
  2. Spoopathon Signup
  3. Hocus Pocus Readathon TBR

Divider2

🎃 October TBR 🎃

Adult

57945316

Hide (Kiersten White) ➽ A horror book set in an abandoned amusement park, where a sinister competition takes place. I’ve seen some mixed reviews, but I think Hide could be a lot of fun!

Dead Silence (S.A. Barnes) ➽ The tagline “A Ghost Shop. A Salvage Crew. Unspeakable Horrors” already says it all. I love that this one seems to combine horror and some science fiction, consider me intrigued 👀

Babel (R.F. Kuang) ➽ Everyone has been anticipating this book and I have to see what it’s all about! Dark Academia makes for the perfect autumn read 🍂

Thirteen Storeys (Jonathan Sims) ➽ The author wrote and performed in my favorite podcast – The Magnus Archives – so I of course had to check out his horror debut! I got this for Christmas and have been saving it for October 👻

Ninth House (Leigh Bardugo) ➽ I’m finally reading this!! Another Dark Academia book with secret societies and the occult by one of my favorite authors. With the sequel coming soon, I’m reading this at the perfect time 😄

The Book of Cold Cases (Simone St. James) ➽ Not sure I’ll get around to this one, but I enjoyed The Sun Down Motel and I like that this one features a book blogger!

YA

 

There’s Someone Inside Your House (Stephanie Perkins) ➽ I watched the movie last year and would love to read the book now! I have heard mixed things, but I think the premise is fun 😄

Horror Hotel (Victoria Fulton, Faith McClaren) ➽ This one is about a couple of teen ghost hunters who spend the night in a haunted hotel. I like the sound of that and got this in a Kindle deal 😊

White Smoke (Tiffany D. Jackson) ➽ This is your typical haunted house story and I’m all here for that! Tiffany D. Jackson is a beloved author and I’m excited to finally read a book by her!

Middle Grade

The Graveyard Book (Neil Gaiman) ➽ Everyone loves this book and I finally want to read it as well! It follows a boy raised in a cemetery by ghosts after his parents died 👻

Brackenbeast (Kate Alice Marshall) ➽ This is the sequel to Thirteens, which I read last year! The story follows three kids in a sinister small town that holds dangerous secrets 👀

Witchlings (Claribel A. Ortega) ➽ I still haven’t read Ghost Squad, but Witchlings sounds fantastic! It’s about covens, witches, and friendships, my favorite things to read about 🥰

Divider2

👻 Spoopathon Signup 👻

Readathon Information

This year I’m joining Spoopathon again, a month-long Readathon in October 👻 The premise this time is that there’s an Apocalypse and you must battle zombies to reach Spooptech Headquarters in order to find a cure. On the Readathon map (see below) you have to fight several waves of Zombies. This time there are no reading prompts in advance, instead, they will be released each week of the Readathon. As much as I love planning my TBR, this is a fun concept as well! Each wave consists of 10 reading prompts and you can choose to do as many as you’d like before moving on. Sprint tiles mean you’ve got to do a reading sprint and the City Break tiles are all about doing a guilt-free activity. Once again there’s a point system for completing books, as you need them to bypass the ‘Heal, Weapon & Shop’ tiles 👀

Spoopathon map

There’s a Twitter Account with a super helpful Information Thread and a Discord Channel. Like last year there are different teams that each have a special ability to help you reach the finish line. I joined Team Librarians (led by Holly and Lottie), which has the special power to bypass the ‘fix weapon’ tile without needing the 300 points! As the reading prompts will be released as the month goes on, I don’t have a TBR yet but will be sharing my progress on Twitter 🥰

🖤 Check out the spoopyhol’s video for more information 🧡

Divider2

🎃 Hocus Pocus Readathon TBR 🎃

Readathon Information

The Hocus Pocus Readathon is happening again! I joined it once back in 2019 but then didn’t do it the previous years. Now I’m back 👻 The Readathon is running all month and is obviously inspired by the movie Hocus Pocus. There are three teams (Sanderson Sisters, Trick & Treaters, Undead) competing for points and each team has 6 different reading prompt + the ‘watch the movie’ prompt.

This time the group book is City of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab, which is perfect as I was planning on doing a reread anyway 😊 You can find all further Information in the Twitter Thread and Jackie’s blog post! I’m joining Team Sanderson Sisters like I did last time because I love their strengths and weaknesses. They allow you to steal a prompt from another team and replace one of your own with it 👀

My Readathon TBR

Hocus Pocus Readathon

Witchlings (Claribel A. Ortega) ➽ You’re a witch now, act like it! Read a witchy book or a book with magical characters! 🔮

Hide (Kiersten White) ➽ Use your cauldron to make some potions! Read a cookbook or a book with food on the coverStolen from Team Trick & Treaters: Max, Allison, and Dani have to stay up all night to defeat the witches! Read a book that is so scary that it would keep you up at night! 🎃

There’s Someone Inside Your House (Stephanie Perkins) ➽ The black flame candle has been lit! Read a coming-of-age novel! 🕯️

Brackenbeast (Kate Alice Marshall) ➽ We are a coven! Read a book about siblings, or read a book about a group of friends! 🧡

All of Us Villains (Amanda Goody, Christine Lynn Herman) ➽ I put a spell on you… and now you’re mine! Read a book about magic and curses, or read a book from the perspective of a villain! 🖤

The Graveyard Book (Neil Gaiman) ➽ Bring out your dead! Read a book about a necromancer, or a book about the undead! 👻

City of Ghosts (Victoria Schwab) ➽ Group Book 🍂

Divider2 (2)

Are you participating in any spooky Readathons? Have you read any of the books on my TBR? What books are on your October TBR? 👻

10 thoughts on “Spooky October TBR 👻 feat. Spoopathon & Hocus Pocus Readathon

  1. Happy Reading Caro 🦇🎃 I hope you enjoy all these spooky books and the readathons!!
    I didn’t know Jonathan Sims published a book 😱 that’s so cool. I hope you love it. I will be excited to hear your thoughts!!
    Wow… The cover for Horror Hotel!! 😍😍 It also sounds a fun setting!! Love the you found it on deal too, always a bonus!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Sophie! 🧡 Yes it’s his debut novel!! His newest book Family Business just came out, so I really need to catch up 😄
      I really liked Horror Hotel! It had some mixed reviews, but I liked that it was a fast-paced ghosthunting adventure!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. So many books and readathons !! Have fun, and goodluck on your goals! xx
    I don’t feel ready yet, I don’t read that fast and I fear I’d only finish one book at best soo 😅

    Horror hotel & The book of cold case is on my list i’d wanna read aswell, dead silence makes me think so much of the Resident Evil revelation game – though it’s on a boat and not a spaceship. I also got a Stephanie Perkins on my shelf, but it’s the woods are always watching!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Kristina! 😊

      Horror Hotel was such a fun, quick read! I really want to read The Book of Cold Cases and Dead Silence, as they sound absolutely fantastic. I’ve already read The Woods Are Always Watching, I hope you enjoy it! 🥰

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved White Smoke! There’s a really good twist but I’m trying to be as vague as possible so that it’ll be even better when you get to it 🙂 And I’m just about to finish reading Hide. I’ve enjoyed it but I can see why it’s gotten mixed reviews.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve read White Smoke now and I really liked it!! It was suspenseful, chilling and so emotional! I need to read more books by Tiffany D. Jackson 😊 Have you read any others?
      I’ve also finished Hide and liked it despite all the mixed reviews 😄

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.