Monthly Wrapups

What I’ve been up to in September 🍂 The Start of Fall & Thesis Frustration

September Wrapup

Hello fellow bookworms 🍂 Autumn is finally here! September brought us some colder weather, which was much appreciated after the heatwaves. Similar to August, things were pretty stagnant with my Master’s thesis, so I was a bit frustrated and couldn’t quite enjoy my time off. At least I got to participate in Becca’s Bookopoly Readathon, it was a lot of fun!

Important Resources

Divider2

whatiread

🔁 = Reread 💌 = Library Books ⌛ = Digital Arc

📚 = #TackleYourTBR 📖 = #DevourYourTBR 😊 = Buddy Read 💕 = 12 Book Recs by Friends

I read 14 books in September! All of them were read for the #Bookoplathon, a Readathon based on Becca’s Bookopoly TBR game. It was my first time participating and it was a lot of fun! Initially, I did 6 prompts, but then I did more along the way. I also listened to some more audiobooks this month, mostly while drawing in my coloring books – an activity that has been really relaxing for me 🥰 In terms of enjoyment I also had a good month, I found THREE new favorites books (The Library of the Unwritten, The Sunbearer Trials & One Cup at a Time) and didn’t rate a book below three stars. This was a good month for keeping up with my reading challenges as well: I read outside of my comfort zone and I tackled lots of my owned TBR books! 📚

OC Update (1)

I read 7 books out of my comfort zone this month and I rated all of them 4 or 5 stars ⭐  I read (1) nonfiction, (2) historical fiction, and (2) mystery books. (5) of the books were Adult and I’ve been trying to incorporate those into my TBR’s more often, so there’s a mix of different age categories 😊 As much as I still like YA, it has been refreshing to read more Adult and Middle Grade books alongside them!

September 1

  • The Library of the Unwritten (A.J. Hackwith) ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐📚📖
  • I’m Glad My Mom Died (Jennette McCurdy) ⭐⭐⭐⭐.5 💌📖🎧
  • Anatomy (Dana Schwartz) ⭐⭐⭐⭐ 📚📖
  • Warren the 13th and the Whispering Woods (Tania Delo Rio & Will Staehle) ⭐⭐⭐⭐ 📚

September 2

  • Sweat & Soap Vol 1. (Kintetsu Yamada) ⭐⭐⭐⭐ 📚 📖
  • Malibu Rising (Taylor Jenkins Reid) ⭐⭐⭐⭐ 💌📖🎧
  • Finlay Donovan Is Killing It (Elle Cosimano) ⭐⭐⭐⭐ 📚📖🎧

Divider2

🎲 Bookplathon Wrapup 🎲

Bookoplathon TBR Template

1. Finlay Donovan Is Killing It (Elle Cosimano) ⭐⭐⭐⭐ 📚📖🎧

2. The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James (Ashley Herring Blake) ⭐⭐⭐⭐ 📚🎧

3. The Library of the Unwritten (A.J. Hackwith) ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐📚📖

4. Anatomy (Dana Schwartz) ⭐⭐⭐⭐ 📚📖

5. The Marvellers (Dhonielle Clayton) ⭐⭐⭐.5 💌📖🎧

6. I‘m Glad My Mom Died (Jennette McCurdy) ⭐⭐⭐⭐.5 💌📖🎧

Divider2

Additional Rolls

7. One Cup at a Time (Matt Tarpley) ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⏳

8. The Sunbearer Trials (Aiden Thomas) ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐📚📖

9. Sweat & Soap Vol 1. (Kintetsu Yamada) ⭐⭐⭐⭐ 📚 📖

10. Malibu Rising (Taylor Jenkins Reid) ⭐⭐⭐⭐ 💌📖🎧

Divider2

Rolls 4

11. Warren the 13th and the Whispering Woods (Katherine Arden) ⭐⭐⭐⭐📚

12. Witch Hat Atelier Vol 1. (Kamome Shirahama) ⭐⭐⭐⭐📚📖

13. Long Live the Pumpkin Queen (Shea Ernshaw) ⭐⭐⭐⭐💌

14. These Witches Don’t Burn (Isabel Sterling) ⭐⭐⭐⭐📚

Divider2

Favorite Books 💕

Divider2

whatiposted

What I’ve been up to in August 🌻 Magical Readathon & a quiet monthBooks I’m excited to read because of other bloggers ❤️ 

Review: How to Disappear by Sharon Huss Roat … In BUZZWORDS 💌The Cozy Autumn Book Tag 🍂 Autumnal Favorites & Fall Reading List 

Arc Review: One Cup at a Time by Matt Tarpley ☕😺 A book that feels like a warm hugFall Recommendations 🍂 Cozy & Atmospheric BooksReview: The Sunbearer Trials by Aiden Thomas ☀️ Buzzwords & Who’s your Godly Parent Quiz

Divider2

faveposts

For this section I’m sharing my Favorite Blog Posts of the Month 💗

Divider2

life stuff

I still don’t have much news about my Thesis 🙈 I finally heard something from my supervisor … it was the news that our first meeting would take place sometime between October 1st and 17th (the official semester start). This would have been okay IF they’d told me that back in July instead of me waiting for two months. I don’t think there’s any ill intent and there seems to be some miscommunication about the timeframe of the thesis. That being said, it was incredibly frustrating to wait for this news for ages, especially since I could have used to the time to prepare or do research for my thesis. But because I didn’t have a concrete topic and I’m involved in a group project, I couldn’t do anything.

Almost everything was out of my control, as this meeting would have given me vital information. I made so many things dependent on when that first meeting. In the end, this left me incredibly frustrated. Next month should mark the official beginning of more information about my thesis, but by now I’m getting tired of constantly telling myself that ‘some news will come soon’. The month wasn’t all bad, but my annoyance with my thesis just consumed everything 😅

💫 What I Watched in September 💫

The Sandman Poster Released By Netflix

  • The Sandman (S1) ~ I haven’t read the comic this is based on, but I saw lots of hype and added it to my watchlist. I didn’t plan on getting completely obsessed with this series, yet here we are 😂 The intriguing world, the complicated characters, the stunning visuals, and both funny and emotional moments. This show is a masterpiece!!! I got so attached to everyone 🥺 Netflix still hasn’t announced a second season and it’s stressing me out so much 😭
  • Boo, Bitch (S1) ~ I love Lana Condor, so I couldn’t resist checking this out! It’s about two BFFs who are unpopular at their high school. One of them becomes a ghost and all sorts of shenanigans happen. I loved the humor and that the show doesn’t take itself too seriously, yet still portrays a strong friendship bond 👻

  • Do Revenge ~ I’m very picky with movies and rarely watch them, but THIS was so much fun! I kept seeing Do Revenge everywhere, so I ended up watching it one weekend. I loved the high school drama, revenge, and also emotional moments 😊 There were some fantastic twists and turns as well!
  • Manifest (01×01 – 01×13) ~ I love a good mystery and Manifest is delivering so far! It’s about the passengers of a flight that disappeared for 5 years, but for them, no time has passed. The fourth season is coming out this year, so I’m hoping to catch up 👀

New Favorite Character Unlocked ❤️🥺

Divider2

looking ahead

It’s time for the spooky season! 👀 October is one of my favorite months, as I love Halloween and autumn. I’m also a big seasonal reader and I’ve been excited about reading all the spooky books for weeks. My October TBR is huge, as there are so many atmospheric and ominous books that I’ve been saving for this month 👻 I’m also planning on watching some spooky shows and movies as well, to fully immerse myself! I’m joining Spoopathon and Hocus Pocus Readathon this month 🎃 Apart from that, the new semester starts in the middle of October, and maybe finally my thesis. I’m planning on taking two sports courses this semester … one of them running, which I never thought I’d do 😂

📚 #DevourYourTBR 📚

This month’s challenge is to read spooky and monstrous reads 👻

© DevourYourTBR

  • Hide (Kiersten White) 📚
  • There’s Someone Inside Your House (Stephanie Perkins) 📚
  • The Graveyard Book (Neil Gaiman) 📚
  • & many more spooky books – I have a MASSIVE TBR this month 👀

🍂 I’m also participating in Spoopathon & Hocus Pocus Readathon 🍂

Spooky Readathons 06.10.

TBR Post coming next Thursday!! ❤️

Divider2 (2)

What were you up to in September? What was your favorite book? Are you planning on reading any spooky books? Have you watched the Sandman and if yes, who’s your favorite character? 🍂

24 thoughts on “What I’ve been up to in September 🍂 The Start of Fall & Thesis Frustration

  1. I was just remarking on another blog that I want to read I’m Glad My Mom Died so badly, but my library has such a long holds list right now. Oh yay, I’m so glad you enjoyed Witch Hat Atelier. I adore it so much. I hope everything works out for your thesis. What an incredibly frustrating experience! Hope your October goes well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I recently saw Do Revenge and loved it, such a fun film!! So thrilled to see you read WHA, its one of my ABSOLUTE favorites, what did you think of the art?? (its gorgeous right?!👀✨). I’m looking forward to reading Sunbearer Trials, it sounds fantastic. Hope everything works out with your thesis, happy October! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, I’m so sorry that your month was filled with frustration thanks to things out of your control! I really hope that your favourite month will make it up for these two months. 🥺
    I also rated Malibu Rising 4 stars, for me the second half was a bit of a letdown! How about you?
    I’m so looking forward to your October tbr! 🥰
    Thank you for sharing my posts!
    Ah, and I’m hoping to read Anatomy in October, so I’m glad you liked it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the kind words! 🧡 I also liked Malibu Rising, but I was a bit disappointed by the end as well … I expected something more.
      Thanks, it has been so much fun reading spooky books 👻
      Anatomy is such a great book, I hope you enjoy it as well! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Ugh, miscommunication is the worst! I’m sorry your thesis was on hold for so long because of it.
    You’ve read and watched some really cool stuff though and that’s always good. I’m glad you enjoyed Malibu Rising and love that you’re obsessed with the Sandman. I hadn’t read the comics prior to the show either, but I listened to the audioplays and they were amazing. I still like the show best though. It was just SO good!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!!
      I definitely had a good month story-wise! Malibu Rising was honestly so much fun, the audiobook is amazing 😊 The Sandman is so good!! I really need to read the comics and maybe listen to the audioplays as well 💕

      Like

  5. I am sorry about the miscommunication surrounding your thesis, that must have been so frustrating for you!
    I am glad your reading provided a solace for you at least– I am sooo happy you enjoyed The Sunbearer Trials, I hope I get to read it soon!
    Yay, you enjoyed The Library of the Unwritten~~ I found it such a unique experience. The characters were so different. Did you have any favourites?? I found Hero an interesting one.
    I saw Boo Bitch advertised and I was tempted, I love fun shows but the reviews put me off. I am glad you enjoyed it, perhaps I will give it a go!
    Thank you sooo much for sharing my posts 🥺💗💜 it means a lot!
    I hope you have an amazing October and enjoy your spooky books 🎃🦇🧡

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It has been frustrating 😔 The Sunbearer Trials and The Library of the Unwritten luckily were some great highlights of the month 💕 I was surprised by how much Hero grew on me, but I also have a soft spot for Brevity!
      Boo Bitch doesn’t take itself too seriously, but it was a fun watch 😄
      You’re welcome! I hope you had a good time as well 🧡

      Liked by 1 person

  6. i am happy to hear you had such a good reading month, i have been struggling with a bit of a reader’s crisis lately, and not enjoying a lot of the books i did.

    i also recently watched do revenge and i didn’t think i would enjoy it, but it was actually so much fun! the characters were hilarious and the acting was surprisingly great! also: the plot twist i could have NEVER seen coming.

    i hope the meeting with your supervisor goes well and that you can get the ball rolling with your thesis… hopefully, october will change things for the better! wishing you all the luck on your readathons & a great month! tysm for the shoutout!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. oh no!! I hope you ended up enjoying some books in October 🧡
      I’m not a big movie person, so I was skeptical, but Do Revenge was so much fun! The twists and turns made this stand out to me 😱
      Thank you! I hope you’re doing well 🥰

      Like

  7. It seems like you had such a great reading month, yay! I’m happy you enjoyed Malibu Rising, I loved that one so much!

    I LOVED Do Revenge so much! It was so much fun and the twists, ahh, I didn’t see that coming and loved it very much, as well.

    I’m so sorry it’s been so tough on you, all this waiting! I really hope that you’ll finally get some answers about it this month, wishing you all the very best!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.