Book Posts

End of the Year Survey: 2022 Edition πŸ’•

End of the Year Book Survey 2022

Hello fellow bookworms πŸ“š It’s time for the Bookish End of the Year Survey again! I did the survey for the past couple of years and it’s always a lot of fun to look back at the reading year and talk about stats, bookish opinions, blogging highlights, and what’s yet to come in 2023! πŸ’• The feature was initially created by Jamie @ PerpetualPageTurner! Again, I have skipped out of a few questions due to the length of the Survey and the fact that I’ve already posted my Favorite and Least Favorite Books of the year πŸ˜„ I’ve also used the 2022 Book Blogger Template by Kal @ ReaderVoracious again this year and it’s still such an INCREDIBLE spreadsheet! I used it for most of the graphs down below πŸ₯°

Check out the previous years

Divider2

2022 Reading Stats

Year in Books

πŸ’— Check out my Year in Books Here πŸ’—

Genre You Read The Most From

2022 genres

Like every year, my most.read genre is Fantasy! However, I had a mix of other genres I read, including more Romance and Sci-Fi than previous years. Very surprising are the 6.5% Horror, as I didn’t read this genre at all in the past 😱

Star Ratings

2022 ratings

My average rating is around 3.9, similar to past year! I had a ton of 5-star books and my most common rating is 4 stars this year.

  • 1 Star (2 Books)
  • 2 Stars ( Books)
  • 3 Stars ( Books)
  • 4 Stars ( Books)
  • 5 Stars (39 Books, including rereads)

Year Published

2022 release

Every year I read a lot of backlist books, but I also managed to read over 50 new releases, more than in the previous years!Β 

  • 2022 πŸ“š 51 Books Read
  • 2021 πŸ“š 46 Books Read
  • 2020 πŸ“š 35 Books Read
  • 2019 πŸ“š 20 Books Read
  • 2018 πŸ“š 17 Books Read
  • 2017 πŸ“š 19 Books Read
  • 2016 πŸ“š 2 Books Read
  • Pre 2016 πŸ“š 26 Books Read

Where my books came from

2022 source

Most of my books are from the library BUT this year I read a ton of bought books, almost as many as I checked out of the library! This is a big improvement from past years and I’m happy that I’m tackling more owned books!

  • Library πŸ“š 109 Books
  • Bought πŸ“š 97 Books (including rereads)
  • ArcsΒ πŸ“š 10 Books

Books Formats

2022 format

Once again e-books and audiobooks are the champions of my reading πŸ˜„ Between my Kindle and my digital library card, it’s just what’s cheapest and most accessible for me! A complete change from pre 2020!

Age Range

2022 age range

I’ve been reading more Adult books this year!! While I still enjoy YA, I have become pickier with what I read and I’m getting more into Adult books. There’s also still a dash of cozy Middle Grade 😊

Divider2

Best in Books 2022

Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t

  • Strange the Dreamer (Laini Taylor) πŸ“š ⭐⭐⭐
  • A Gathering of Shadows (V.E. Schwab) πŸ“š ⭐⭐⭐
  • The Marvellers (Dhonielle Clayton) πŸ“š ⭐⭐⭐

Best series you started in 2022? Best Sequel of 2022? Best Series Ender of 2022?

  • Series Started πŸ“š The Luminaries (Susan Dennard) ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Sequel πŸ“š Hollowpox (Jessica Townsend) ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Series Finale πŸ“š Queen of Volts (Amanda Foody) ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Favorite new author, you discovered in 2022?

  • Emily Henry πŸ“š Book Lovers, Beach Read, People We Meet on Vacation
  • Alexis Hall πŸ“š Boyfriend Material, A Lady for a Duke

Most Read Author in 2022?

Talia Hibbert – Audio Books, Best Sellers, Author Bio | Audible.com

  • Talia Hibbert πŸ“š 6 Books (Dani Brown, Eve Brown, A Girl Like Her, Damaged Goods, Merry Inkmas, Highly Suspicious and Unfairly Cute)

Divider2

Book You Read In 2022 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

  • What’s Not to Love (Wibberley, Siegemund-Broka) πŸ“š
  • Between You, Me and the Honeybees (Amelia Diane Coombs) πŸ“š

Favorite cover of a book you read in 2022?

  • VespertinesΒ (Ben Guterson) πŸ“š
  • The Strangeworlds Travel Agency (L.D. Lapinski) πŸ“š
  • Weather Girl (Rachel Lynn Solomon) πŸ“š

Most memorable characters of 2022?

  • Claire, Brevity, Leto & Hero (The Library of the Unwritten) πŸ“š
  • Carrie Soto (Carrie Soto Is Back) πŸ“š
  • Bryce, Hunt & Syrinx (House of Earth and Blood) πŸ“š

Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2022 to finally read?

  • Something Strange & DeadlyΒ (Susan Dennard) πŸ“š
  • Witch Hat Atelier Vol 1. (Kamome Shirahama) πŸ“š
  • How to Disappear (Sharon Huss Roat) πŸ“š

OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

  • Astrid & Jordan (Astrid Parker Doesn’t Fail) πŸ“š
  • Teo & Aurelio (The Sunbearer Trials) πŸ“š
  • Barrett & Miles (See You Yesterday) πŸ“š
  • Eleanor & Daniel (Something Strange & Deadly) πŸ“š
  • Gideon & Paul (The Geek Who Saved Christmas) πŸ“š
  • Viola & Gracewood (A Lady for a Duke) πŸ“š
  • Eve & Jacob (Act Your Age, Eve Brown)

Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year?

  • Flick & Jonathan (Strangeworlds Travel Agency) πŸ“š
  • The Revenant & Artemisia (Vespertine) πŸ“š
  • Thorn, Valley & Seven (Witchlings) πŸ“š
  • Amarie & Elsie (Amari and the Night Brothers) πŸ“š

Hidden Gem Of The Year? (Under 1000 Ratings)

  • Ravenfall (Kalyn Josephson) πŸ“š
  • The Many Half-Lived Lives of Sam Sylvester (Maya MacGregor) πŸ“š
  • The Miracle on Ebenezer Street (Catherine Doyle) πŸ“š

Divider2

Your Bookish Life

New favorite book blog you discovered in 2022?

Favorite review that you wrote in 2022?

Reviews (1)

Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

Book Recs Blogger

Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

  • Once again, I loved joining a lot of Readathons, as they always make reading so much more fun! My favorite Readathons that I participated in this year have got to be the Magical Readathon and #ClearUrSht Readathon πŸ₯° I have to admit that I’m planning on cutting down on joining too many Readathons at once in the new year, as I want to focus more on being fully present in the ones I do!
  • I joined an Advent Calendar event! This was hosted by Cam and all about sharing some gifts during the holiday season. I made some Canva templates that you can still check out! DB also made some lovely gifts as well πŸŽ„

Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2022?

  • Joining the Books Out of the Blue Discord Server! This is a server hosted by Destiny @ howlinglibraries and while I struggle with Discord at times, this was such a welcoming and comfortable place. I love that there is a book club, bingo events, and lots of space to talk about books and other life things ❀️

Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?

  • Having overambitious TBRs. Once again the only person stressing myself out about reading is me πŸ˜‚πŸ™ˆ I love reading so much, but sometimes I bite off more than I can chew. There are simply so many books and setting too long TBRs hasn’t been helpful for me. I want to work on that in the new year, as I want to do smaller, more manageable TBRs that don’t begin to stress me out as the month goes on.

Divider2

Looking Ahead

One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2022 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2023?

  • Dead Silence (S.A. Barnes) πŸ“š

2023 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

  • Always the Almost (Edward Underhill) πŸ“š
  • Out of Character (Jenna Miller) πŸ“š

Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2023?

  • Silver Born: The Mystery of Morrigan Crow (Katherine Arden) πŸ“š Nevermoor #4
  • Mysteries of Thorn Manor (Margaret Rogerson) πŸ“š Sorcery of Thorns #1.5
  • System Collapse (Martha Wells) πŸ“š Murderbot Diaries #7

One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2023?

  • Tackle some of my oldest unread books on the physical TBR!Β I have been reading more books I owned in 2022 (both e-books and physical books), but there are still a ton of books that I have owned for YEARS and still not read πŸ™ˆ We’re talking about the oldest books being from 2015/2016. I want to read at least some of them, especially as I feel myself losing interest in them with every year they collect dust on my TBR!

Me getting ready for the upcoming year

Divider2 (2)What was your favorite reading/blogging moment of 2022? What are you hoping to accomplish in 2023?

8 thoughts on “End of the Year Survey: 2022 Edition πŸ’•

  1. as always i’m stunned by how much you read! i’m glad to see that you had such a great reading year quality-wise too, with so many 4 star+ reads! and you always are such an inspiration for me to read more backlist books & try out more reading challenges/readathons haha. and i’m so happy that you ended up reading witch hat atelier and loving it, especially after seeing that i was one of the reasons you wanted to pick it up! πŸ₯²β€οΈ hope you have another wonderful reading year in 2023 :]

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, 215 books is impressive!! I’m glad you had so many 4 star reads! Teo and Aurelio are a great ship and I can’t wait to see where their relationship goes in the next book. I’m also really excited for the next Nevermoor book, I need to know what happens after that cliffhanger.
    Hope you have great reads in 2023!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! I loved Teo and Aurelio so much and I’m excited to see more of them in the next book πŸ’• I’m glad that we’re finally getting Silverborn this year, I need to know what happens next!! I hope you had a good start into 2023 πŸ₯°

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Seems like 2022 was a successful reading year Caro! I did my best to read quite a few backlist books this year too. Its fun to hear about your experience with reading challenges. I love that you prioritize rereads also, I’m hoping to focus on that more next year! Happy rest of 2022 ❀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.