Monthly Wrapups

What I’ve been up to in October ๐ŸŽƒ Lots of spooky content

October Wrapup 2022

Hello fellow bookworms ๐ŸŽƒย Sadly October is already over! It’s one of my favorite months but it always flies by so fast. I had a lot of fun reading all the scary books and watching more shows/movies than I usually do ๐Ÿ‘ป They definitely kept me distracted from the ongoing disaster that is my thesis ๐Ÿ™ˆ

Important Resources

Divider2

whatiread

๐Ÿ” = Reread ๐Ÿ’Œ = Library Books โŒ› = Digital Arc

๐Ÿ“š = #TackleYourTBR ๐Ÿ“– = #DevourYourTBR ๐Ÿ˜Š = Buddy Read ๐Ÿ’• = 12 Book Recs by Friends

I read 21 books in October! During autumn and winter, I usually read a lot more, as I’m all about that seasonal reading and super motivated ๐Ÿงก I also joined two spooky Readathons this month: Spoopathon and Hocus Pocus Readathon! Besides very few books, I loved everything I read and discovered many new favorites. I’m slowly reading more horror, though I’m still very much a scared cat ๐Ÿˆโ€โฌ›

OC Update (1)

I read 12 books out of my comfort zone this month! I read a lot of mystery, thriller, and horror books because it was October ๐Ÿ‘ป The only non-spooky book was Carrie Soto Is Back because I really wanted to read it and my library hold came in ๐Ÿฅฐ

October 1

  • Something Strange and Deadly (Susan Dennard) โญโญโญโญ.5๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ“–
  • Carrie Soto Is Back (Taylor Jenkins Reid) โญโญโญโญ.5๐Ÿ’Œ๐ŸŽง
  • Horror Hotel (Victoria Fulton, Faith McClaren) โญโญโญโญ๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ“–
  • Hide (Kiersten White) โญโญโญโญ๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ“–

October 2

  • Brackenbeast (Kate Alice Marshall) โญโญโญโญ๐Ÿ’Œ๐Ÿ“–
  • Very Bad People (Kit Frick) โญโญโญโญ๐Ÿ’Œ๐Ÿ“–๐ŸŽง
  • There’s Someone Inside Your House (Stephanie Perkins) โญโญโญโญ๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ“–
  • White Smoke (Tiffany D. Jackson) โญโญโญโญ๐Ÿ’Œ๐Ÿ“–๐ŸŽง

October 3

  • Lock Every Door (Riley Sager) โญโญโญโญ๐Ÿ’Œ๐Ÿ“–๐ŸŽง
  • The Twig Man (Sana Rasoul) โญโญโญโญโŒ›๐Ÿ“–
  • Spirit Hunters (Ellen Oh) โญโญโญ๐Ÿ’Œ๐Ÿ“–
  • Coraline (Neil Gaiman) โญโญ.5๐Ÿ’Œ๐Ÿ“–๐ŸŽง

Divider2

๐Ÿ‘ป Spoopathon Wrapup ๐Ÿ‘ป

Spoopathon Wave 1 Wrapup

1. City of Ghosts (Victoria Schwab) โญโญโญโญ๐Ÿ”๐ŸŽง

2. Tunnel of Bones (Victoria Schwab) โญโญโญโญ๐Ÿ”๐ŸŽง

3. Bridge of Souls (Victoria Schwab) โญโญโญโญ๐Ÿ”๐ŸŽง

4. Thirteens (Kate Alice Marshall) โญโญโญโญ๐Ÿ”

5. Brackenbeast (Kate Alice Marshall) โญโญโญโญ๐Ÿ’Œ๐Ÿ“–

6. Horror Hotel (Victoria Fulton, Faith McClaren) โญโญโญโญ๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ“–

Divider2

Spoopathon Wave 2 Wrapup

7. Pumpkinheads (Rainbow Rowell, Faith Erin Hicks) โญโญโญโญโญ๐Ÿ”

8. Something Strange and Deadly (Susan Dennard) โญโญโญโญ.5๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ“–

9. Carrie Soto Is Back (Taylor Jenkins Reid) โญโญโญโญ.5๐Ÿ’Œ๐ŸŽง

10. Hide (Kiersten White) โญโญโญโญ๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ“–

11. The Graveyard Book (Neil Gaiman) โญโญโญโญ๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ“–๐ŸŽง

12. Coraline (Neil Gaiman) โญโญ.5๐Ÿ’Œ๐Ÿ“–๐ŸŽง

Divider2

Spoopathon Wave 3 Wrapup

13. Miss Peregrine’s Museum of Wonders (Ransom Riggs) โญโญโญโญโญ๐Ÿ’Œ๐Ÿ“–

14. Very Bad People (Kit Frick) โญโญโญโญ๐Ÿ’Œ๐Ÿ“–๐ŸŽง

15. White Smoke (Tiffany D. Jackson) โญโญโญโญ๐Ÿ’Œ๐Ÿ“–๐ŸŽง

16. Unfamiliar (Haley Newsome) โญโญโญโญโŒ›

17. Spirit Hunters (Ellen Oh) โญโญโญ๐Ÿ’Œ๐Ÿ“–

Divider2

October Readathons

18. Rules for Vanishing (Kate Alice Marshall) โญโญโญโญ.5๐Ÿ”

19. Lock Every Door (Riley Sager) โญโญโญโญ๐Ÿ’Œ๐Ÿ“–๐ŸŽง

20. The Twig Man (Sana Rasoul) โญโญโญโญโŒ›๐Ÿ“–

21. There’s Someone Inside Your House (Stephanie Perkins) โญโญโญโญ๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ“–

Divider2

Favorite Books ๐Ÿ’•

Divider2

whatiposted

What Iโ€™ve been up to in September ๐Ÿ‚ The Start of Fall & Thesis Frustrationย ~ย Spooky October TBR ๐Ÿ‘ป feat. Spoopathon & Hocus Pocus Readathonย 

Series Review: Small Spaces Quartet ๐Ÿ‘ป The best MG Horror series! ~ย Spooky Book Recs ๐Ÿ‘ป If You Liked This โ€ฆ Youโ€™ll Like Thatย 

Halloween Book Covers Tag ๐Ÿ‘ป Pumpkins, Ghosts & Creepy Things ~ย Tackling My Highest Priority Books ๐Ÿ“š #ClearUrSht Part 1: November TBRย 

Review: See You Yesterday by Rachel Lynn Solomon โ€ฆ In BUZZWORDS ๐Ÿ’— ~ย Spooky Shows & Movies for Scaredy Cats ๐Ÿ‘ป 2022 Edition

Divider2

faveposts

For this section I’m sharing my Favorite Blog Posts of the Month ๐Ÿ’—

Divider2

life stuff

Every Wrapup I talk about my thesis and yet there’s still no news! If you’ve read my wrapups of the previous months, you know that I’ve been struggling with my Master’s thesis. My supervisor kept pushing off our first meeting with the entire group. They promised we’d meet Mid October to discuss the plan … but guess what: it didn’t happen … again. The secretary told us they’re gone AGAIN until the end of the month and that we’re meeting in November … but that’s for the entire seminar, which includes other students not involved in my project. At this point, I’m fuming with anger and have begrudgingly accepted that I might not make my deadline. Worst case scenario: I have to pay for another semester, as I cannot switch to anyone else for my thesis. Thus, I still haven’t started.

I’m back for the semester though and meet with my closest friend here, who’s also writing her thesis. It was nice to vent to her and find out how her supervisor handles things โ™ฅ๏ธ I have to admit that I’m not feeling good about my thesis given that my supervisor hasn’t been communicating well and I’m getting more resentful the longer they make me wait. At this point, I can’t even imagine starting as I’ve been waiting for THREE months. My mental health hasn’t been doing well and I’m trying to distract myself, but it’s hard not to feel like I made a huge mistake in choosing them as a supervisor. I heard only good things prior to applying which baffles me even more. I’d appreciate any good vibes ๐Ÿงกโœจ

๐Ÿ‘ปย What I Watched in October ๐Ÿ‘ป

I watched a lot more than usual and discovered some amazing shows!!

Over the Garden Wall Volume 4 : Mchale, Pat, Sjursen-Lien, Kiernan, Mager,  George, Burgos, Danielle, McGee, Cara, Campbell, Jim: Amazon.de: Bรผcherย Poster Dead End: Paranormal Park - Poster 1 von 1 - FILMSTARTS.de Nailed It! drops their Season 7 trailer filled with spooky surprises

  • Over the Garden Wall (S1)
  • Dead End: Paranormal Park (S1 & 2)
  • Nailed It! (S7)

The Nightmare Before Christmas (1993) - IMDb Hocus Pocus streamen | Ganzer Film | Disney+ Hocus Pocus 2 | Film 2022 | Moviepilot.de

  • The Nightmare Before Christmas (Movie) ๐Ÿ”
  • Hocus Pocus ๐Ÿ” & Hocus Pocus 2 (Movie)

Poster zum Film Nightbooks - Bild 5 auf 5 - FILMSTARTS.de The Haunting of Bly Manor | Bly, Film posters vintage, Horror posters 28 Days Haunted | Film-Rezensionen.de

  • Nightbooks (Movie)
  • The Haunting of Bly Manor (S1)
  • 28 Days Haunted (S1)

Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children | 20th Century Studios Family  Australia/New Zealand The Curse of Bridge Hollow | Bilder, Poster & Fotos | Moviepilot.de Manifest (TV Series 2018- ) - Posters โ€” The Movie Database (TMDB)

  • Miss Peregrineโ€™s Home for Peculiar Children (Movie) ๐Ÿ”
  • The Curse of Bridge Hollow (Movie)
  • Manifest (S2)

Divider2

looking ahead

November will hopefully bring some good things ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿปย At least I have one meeting with my department, even if it’s not the one I wanted. Any information might be good. I can’t even really plan for the month because so much is uncertain. At least reading-wise I know what’s going on! I’m joining #ClearUrSht, a Readathon running until the end of the year ๐Ÿงก It’s all about reading your owned books, but I’ll also be tackling some priority library books I didn’t get to until now! Once again I have an ambitious TBR, but I’m quite excited!

๐Ÿ“š #DevourYourTBR ๐Ÿ“š

This monthโ€™s challenge is to read books you didn’t get to from your previous 2022 TBRs!

ยฉ DevourYourTBR

  • Dead Silence (S.A. Barnes) ๐Ÿ’Œ
  • Witchlings (Claribel A. Ortega) ๐Ÿ’Œ
  • A Lady for a Duke (Alexis Hall) ๐Ÿ“š

  • A Closed and Common Orbit (Becky Chambers) ๐Ÿ“š
  • All of Us Villains (Foody, Herman) ๐Ÿ“š

๐Ÿ“š I’m also participating in ClearUrSht ๐Ÿ“š

CUS 3.0 TBR

Check out my TBR here โค๏ธ

Divider2 (2)

What were you up to in October? What was your favorite book? Feel free to tell me some good news you’ve received, I need some positivity! ๐ŸŽƒ

21 thoughts on “What I’ve been up to in October ๐ŸŽƒ Lots of spooky content

  1. great wrap up! Iโ€™ve had my eye on Carrie Soto is back and am so happy you enjoyed it! A Lady for a Duke is on my TBR (that cover *heart eyes*) I watched Hocus Locus 2 as well and thought it was really cute ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Iโ€™m so sorry Caro that your supervisors are making your life harder! It must be so freaking annoying and irritating to know that you canโ€™t work because of someone else! I really hope theyโ€™ll take that into account and will let you extend the deadline (I know it might be unlikely, but fingers crossed you wonโ€™t have to pay for another semester!).
    Iโ€™m glad you got to escape to all these great books and tv shows and movies! Iโ€™m so excited for Carrie Soto! Itโ€™s good to see you enjoyed it.
    How was Hocus Pocus 2? ๐Ÿฅฐ
    Thank you for including my posts. ๐Ÿฅบ I hope you have a great November!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Morgan! It’s been a frustrating time for sure ๐Ÿ™ˆ
      Carrie Soto is really good, I loved listening to it on audiobook ๐Ÿฅฐ Hocus Pocus 2 was good, I liked that it had the charm of the original but also some new storylines!
      You’re welcome! I hope you had a good November ๐Ÿ’•

      Liked by 1 person

  3. That is terrible about your supervisor for your thesis!! I hope it all gets sorted out for you Caro and remember to take care of yourself too!! I know your mental health has been struggling so remember to take time to self care and relax whenever you have a moment to spare. Sending good luck your way!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am so sorry to hear about your thesis supervisor, it is some shocking behaviour. I hope the meeting (albeit not what you want) this month provides an explanation at least. Sending good thoughts and I’m glad you can talk through it with your friends ๐Ÿ’–

    I love that you embraced lots of spooky content this month. I tried to get in the mood for Halloween this year too. It was my first time watching Hocus Pocus so that was fun ๐Ÿฅฐ I’ve had you put a spell on me in my head ever since ๐Ÿ˜†

    Thank you so much for sharing our posts, it means a lot โค๏ธ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! The whole experience has just been a bit frustrating, but it helped that I could vent to my friends about it!

      I love getting in the spooky mood each October ๐ŸŽƒ Hocus Pocus is such a classic, I’m glad to hear that you liked it ๐Ÿฅฐ
      You’re welcome! I hope you’re doing well ๐Ÿ’•

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I really enjoyed White Smoke, but I’ve enjoyed everything Tiffany D. Jackson writes. The Nightmare Before Christmas and Hocus Pocus are two of my favorite Halloween-themed movies. I’m always filled with such nostalgia when I watch them. Wishing you a lovely November ๐Ÿ’•

    Liked by 1 person

    1. White Smoke was great and I hope to read more books by Tiffany D. Jackson!! I love rewatching The Nightmare Before Christmas and Hocus Pocus every year for Halloween ๐ŸŽƒ I hope you had a good November ๐Ÿ’•

      Like

  6. Oh no Caro! Your supervisor sounds really terrible, is there anyway you can not pay for another semester, as it’s really their fault for keep pushing the start date? Also can you switch supervisor? With the end of the year coming soon, they might use it as another excuse and these types of communications might continue during your thesis period ๐Ÿ˜ฌ

    I hope November brings some good news to you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. At this point, there’s not much I can do, but I was finally able to connect to some other students who are also writing in this department and we’re working on writing an E-Mail to the supervisor right now!
      Thank you, I hope you had a good November ๐Ÿ’•

      Like

  7. Ahh so happy you read and enjoyed Carrie Soto! I also have Very Bad People on my TBR, happy to see you liked it! ๐Ÿฅฐ
    I’m so sorry that things haven’t been better with your thesis this past month, how freaking frustrating, ugh I’m so mad on your behalf! Sending you all the good vibes and hoping everything will work out for the best as soon as possible!! โค โค

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I am so sorry to hear about your thesis supervisor. That is terrible to go through that. Hopefully you will get some news.
    Have a great November reading month.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.