Top 5 Wednesday

Books to give Hufflepuffs as Gifts

huffle

Hello fellow bookworms 💛 It’s time for another Top Five Wednesday, which is a weekly meme which was created by Lainey and is now hosted by Sam! Make sure to check out the Goodreads Group as well 🌺 This week’s topic is Books to Give to ____ as Gifts. Here is what this is all about:

“Create a recommendations guide for a person. Be creative with this. It can be simple such as “books for parents”, more elaborate like “books for Ravenclaws”, or expert level like “books for -insert your favorite fictional character here-“. You can even take out the category completely and have all 5 be suggestions for different types of people!”

I decided to go with Books for Hufflepuffs, as I have never done a Hogwarts themed post (like the House Recommendation posts I see on my feed from time to time) before, so I decided today would be a good day to start 😊 My Hogwarts House is actually Hufflepuff (with some Ravenclaw tendencies), so that’s why I choose it, as I would hopefully know what books would make some fellow Hufflepuffs happy! Please do tell me what house you’re in, I would love to find out 💕

All my Blogmas Posts

  1. All the Festive Readathons! // Tis the Season, A Very Merry Readathon & Magical Feast
  2. Things to Do in Winter (+ Recs) ❄ + Swetlana’s Post
  3. Review: Vicious by V.E. Schwab
  4. Review: The Burning Maze by Rick Riordan
  5. T5W: Books to give Hufflepuffs as Gifts
  6. Festive Books on my TBR
  7. The Christmas Stocking Tag
  8. Reviews: Scyhte & Wildcard

Trenn Kopie

My favorite Hufflepuff 💛

Some Merch to go along with the Books 💛

Trenn Kopie

Books for Hufflepuffs 💛

You might belong in Hufflepuff,
Where they are just and loyal,
Those patient Hufflepuffs are true,
And unafraid of toil.
—The Sorting Hat[src]

1. From Twinkle, with Love (Sandhya Menon) 💛 I actually think that Twinkle could really be a Hufflepuff, as she is a loyal person and still hung up at the fallout with her best friend. In general, she is very hardworking, as film is her passion and she wants to make it, to show other Indian girls that they can do it to. I really admired her dedication and actually loved that she was flawed as well with her being so attuned to what everyone else thought of her. I really find that you can enjoy watching her grow and develop as not everyone is perfect from the start. There’s also the fact that her love interest Sahil is such a kind, loyal guy who clearly cares a lot  about her, making this book very heartwarming to read!

2. Code Name Verity (Elizabeth Wein) 💛 This book is a bit more heavy as it deals with the second world war and a girl imprisoned by the Nazi’s for being a British Spy. However, the strong friendship between the two main female characters was so inspiring and heartbreaking to read about: they are fiercely loyal to each other and in general there is a great theme of loyalty and companionship here. We find out how both of them meet and we also see how Verity’s life at prison is like. The book is truly phenomenal and heartbreaking, especially the end. However, it’s the end that truly shines a light on loyalty and what we’re willing to sacrifice in a crisis.

3. The Sword of Summer (Rick Riordan) 💛 Of course I had to include a Rick Riordan books, as they all have lots of great friendship dynamics and loyalty, so it’s a perfect read for a Hufflepuff (and everybody else)! I also had to go with The Sword of Summer, as it’s still my absolute favorite book by him and I’m very much convinced that Magnus is a Hufflepuff anyways. He loves his friends a lot and I adore the friendship dynamic that he has throughout the Series, as they’re all a big found family that is incredibly loyal to each other! There’s also lots of humor and adventure, so the Magnus Chase books are generally a great comfort read.

Trenn Kopie

 

4. The Brightsiders (Jen Wilde) 💛 The theme for this list seems to be 50% contemporary, but that’s because they do tend to have so many amazing friendship groups. I could have chosen Queens of Geek for this list as well, but I really wanted to talk more about the Brightsiders as it has an absolutely amazing, supportive friendship group that really helps the main character Emmy through her problems and the pressure of being a teen celebrity. The relationships really stood out in this book, especially as everyone is very loyal to each other and very dedicated to helping Emmy, as she doesn’t get any support from her abusive family. This is truly a story with the best friends ever!

5. The Book Thief (Markus Zusak) 💛 For some reason I think that The Book Thief could be the perfect Hufflepuff book, even though you’d likely sort the main character into Ravenclaw (any thoughts on that?). However, what really made this book so interesting is that it’s all about the characters and the community of Liesel’s home town. As it’s the war, there are lots of problems and pretty much everything is tight, but we also see genuine human compassion and generosity, something that I think is perfectly connected to Hufflepuff house as well. Not to mention that the main character and her family work very hard to help hide someone and take on lots of pressure and the threat of getting killed for it.

6. The Problem with Forever (Jennifer L. Armentrout) 💛 I feel like the main character is very much a Hufflepuff, as Mallory is generally a very loyal person and what I would call fair. She has to deal with some past trauma and has selective mutism, so there are quite a few people who are not so kindly to her. However, the person who saved her during her lonely and horrible childhood reappears and I’m convinced that he’s a Hufflepuff too, as he is so very loyal to her, even now after all these years he wants to support and protect Mallory. Both are incredibly loyal to each other, even now that they are out of this bad situation and haven’t seen each other in a few years. Still their connection is so strong that it endured all of that.

Trenn Kopie

Honorable Mentions 💛

There were so many more books I felt were the perfect picks, so here are some more recommendations for Hufflepuffs!

  • Truthwitch (Susan Dennard)
  • Am I Normal Yet? (Holly Bourne)
  • The Nowhere Girls (Amy Reed)
  • An Enchantment of Ravens (Margaret Rogerson)
  • Simon vs. the homosapiens agenda (Becky Albertalli)
  • Carry On (Rainbow Rowell)

Talk Kopie

What Hogwarts House are you in? What books would you recommend for it? 💛

15 thoughts on “Books to give Hufflepuffs as Gifts

  1. I love this post so, so much and I am so a hufflepuff and appreciate all the contemporaries and friendships here SO very much! I loved The Brightsiders and Am I Normal Yet, and I can’t wait to read Twinkle at some point 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahh, I’m a Hufflepuff but given how many of these books I’ve read I’ve got a lot more to add to my TBR list! 😀
    I really loved Jen Wilde’s Queens of Geek so I need to get around to The Brightsiders soon (hopefully before her next book is released, maybe) and oh The Book Thief is an all-time favourite of mine. I definitely agree with what you said about what makes this a Hufflepuff book, it’s the sense of community and Liesel’s relationship with Max and the Hubermann’s that makes it that way I think.
    Great post, and great picks for this topic too. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yes, another Hufflepuff 💛
      Queens of Geek was amazing 😍 I really hope you end up liking The Brightsiders, it was different from her first book, but great in its own right! I just reread The Book Thief and cried all over again 😭 My heart is still breaking from that ending 💔
      Thank you so much!! 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.